You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 14: Tell me who - [Win hive for your comment + HP delegation opportunity]

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

Yep, I'm always careful with the really new ones; Welcoming of course, but so many promise the world and deliver nothing so I tend to wait until they've shows a little more than a. Intro post before I get too involved. I couldn't even tell you how many I've personally welcomed on their intro posts, (I don't do the cut and paste thing as I feel it looks spammy) and yet received nothing in reply. So...I'll only reward people who actively inject effect. Reward for no effort isn't my thing here, or I'm real life.

Sort:  

Yeah I’m trying to give them the tools I wish I had when I started to get to know things. We can only guide them, it’s their choice to continue or to give up. In my time in the new and introduction section I have made 6 great new followers and members of the community. Two listed here and some not. I think with a fairly small sized platform compared to others that’s pretty good!

I think it's good to give them something to work with, your cut and paste comment seems to cover a lot, no need for more from others. I take the more personal approach, offer my help, none take it, and so to me they disappear into oblivion.

You seem to have had some good results. I think if more of the better established users did a little something to help then things would improve, but that doesn't seem to be the way it's done.