You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

I agree that a person's daily grind, the job they hate but have to do can erode ones enjoyment of life. I think it's been that way for a long time. The only truly free were Neanderthals, the hunter-gatherers. Once we stopped moving with the seasons and with food sources, when we started to plant crops around 10,000 years ago, we became slaves to work in the main; The daily grind. The work may be different but the grind isn't.

I work, I'm no different. I don't have the ability not to work at this stage, but get closer and closer. This is why, for me, applying passion to the things I do is most important. It helps me to enjoy what I have, my life, a little better, more deeply.

I don't reserve passion for hobbies alone, it permeates through all aspects of my life, my attitude and thoughts; I'm a passionate person plain and simple. Life is my hobby, my life and that with Faith and my family too. I'm passionate about it so I guess I'm less likely to say things like I hate my job and more likely to say, I love my life. 😉

Just me, everyone does their own thing though I guess.

Sort:  

We are exactly the same as far as the passion issue is concerned my friend.
Our internet signal bombed out again this morning and I knew that it would take hours to fix it, so we went down to the beach.

Incidentally I was thinking about the passion and hobby thing when this van stopped in front of us at the traffic lights.
Look at what was pasted on its tailgate!
271.jpg

Truer words were never spoke. Nice catch on the right day.

Thank you Sir Tom!

Looks like the tailgate of a Hilux. Clearly a person who understands his purpose in life. 😁

Oh yeah, Hilux remains the top seller here and most of the farmers drive them.
The farmers and their sons and their uncles and their nephews and their friends :)
His passsion is fishing, so it tells you what he thinks about his job.

The Hilux was the best seller, but the Ford Ranger overtook it a while back. They go back and forth over the top position...I've had both and enjoyed both...My preference? Either I'd say, both have their merits...Although I loved my Ranger, not physically loved it, but emotionally. 😂

I am more of an old Land Rover fan so my youngest daughter ,who happens to be very very well off, tried to impress me by bying this new Land Rover sport thing with the sloping roof.
I can tell you that I was not impressed at all.
Give me one of the old army Land Rovers any day and I will be as happy as a clam.

Rangers are great and I am sure that your Ranger appreciated your love 🤣

Many old things are still quite serviceable and capable. You may never have seen the post I did on my 45 Series Landcruiser project a while back...So yeah, I get what you're saying. It's moving forward at a snails pace, if said snail was at a dead stop for most of the time.

20181224_164227.jpg

20181224_164235.jpg

20181224_164416.jpg

Now this is what I call true beauty in a vehicle.
Practical and no nonsense.
No advanced electronics and flamboyant plusses that is going to help no one when stuck in a river.