You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

I don't obsess on it but prefer to avoid mainstream news and seek my information from other sources. It keeps it real, at least in my own mind. I don't discuss it much with people because most think they're being well-informed by the pelicans on the nightly 6pm news. There's little point in trying to bring sense to the mindless.

Sort:  

Indeed, most people are brainwashed by the biased and one-sided msm. I do like to talk politics and religion, but it sure don't go over super well at work, if you want to keep the peace that is.

Most people are too entrenched in their ideologies and are not open to change, or the truth, which makes discussions futile. An example is the pro/anti gun conversation. I have had it of course, but I refuse to engage in it any more; There's simply no point as most people simply won't concede that there are other perspectives to theirs. My life is too short to waste engaging with imbeciles.

Well said. I don’t have much hope that things will improve going forward. It feels that people have chosen their sides.

Yes...And are either too stubborn, stupid, egotistical or prideful to be open to change.

Yep. I don't engage either. It's just not worth it.

Several years ago I wrote a series on gun ownership for a website. The comments there convinced me that the dickheads didn't even read the article before they ripped my ass.

Yep, that sounds about right. There's no point in conversation with that level of stupid.

It was after one of our endless massacres. I'm a big responsible gun owner guy and the articles proposed some real world gun rules. The guys with the torches and pitchforks weren't having any of that...

Ah yes, it's always at moments like that when the bespawlers creep out from their dark, dank cells to spread their vitriol. I swear they sit around wishing for a massacre to happen so they haver something to spew forth about. If they are so worried about the loss of innocent human life they should work a little harder on the drink driving issue...10,000 deaths a year or so...But nah, that's not so important to them seemingly.