Racing again

in Weekend Experiences3 months ago

1000015865.jpg

It's been a long time since I've done any motor racing, far too long in fact; there's good reasons for it, the cost, the fact that it's really taxing on the body (and I'm getting older) but mostly it's time related. I miss it.



I used to race karts as a younger man and enjoyed it a lot. I'd tinker on my kart for weeks preparing for a race and then go out and have a great time racing against others and finishing first getting a place in the top ten or so usually, maybe even closer to the pointy end sometimes. I was good at it, not the best, but I had a lot of fun though and that's why I was there.

I loved the technical aspect, finding small increments of speed through settings on the kart and the personal improvement aspect of driving better but as things progressed I wasn't able to throw new parts and equipment at it like the other top guys did and that meant I was racing with a handicap. In the end, I decided to stop and sold off my kart and all the bits and pieces that went with it. A sad day.

Since then I've driven from time to time and loved it, but always regretted selling off my kart despite it being the best decision at the time.

A couple days ago a friend called and offered me a chance to drive again and I jumped at it. There's nothing locked in yet but we're working on it for one of the weekends coming up soon and I'm confident we can make something work. It's a one-off drive, a track day, but I'm really keen. Time to break out the old racing suit and see if it fits. Ok, I'm that excited I've already done that! (It fits perfectly.)


I'm really excited about this opportunity and will make the most of it.

Have you ever done something that you've eventually had to stop doing for one reason or another? What was it, why did you love it and what caused you to stop? Do you regret stopping and if so how have you dealt with it and, the big question, do you think you'll get another chance? Comment if you'd like.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

Sort:  

That sounds fun ! I mean, no I've never driven such a thing, but it sounds fun that you are getting the chance to do again, something you have really loved in the past.

Always great when you can something really exciting to look forward too.

It'll take 10 20 years off my age...until the next day when all the aches and pains from the lateral loads and vibrations strike with a vengeance. That'll maybe add a few. 🤔

Yeah... what a RUSH till the aches kick in !

Obviously you have already weighed the cost and decided the payment will be worth it.

Happy to pay with some bumps and bruises, sore muscles and bones. Interestingly it's the hands that can hurt the most as (initially) one grips the steering wheel pretty rightly until one settles in. Of course, being that low to the ground and at speed with suspension designed for handling not comfort is pretty stressful on the old back. (When I say old I mean old.) 😊

ha... just wait till you are REALLY old !

Oh yeah, I can hardly wait. 🤔🥺

It beats the alternative !

😂

I've driven regular go karts and they're lots of fun. I've heard of customized/high end ones that can go really fast. Since you'll be wearing a suit, I'm guessing it's one of those. I would be excited too.

I was doing Archery a few years back. I had to stop because the place I was going to moved and there was no longer any place close to me. I was treating it as a hobby, but it was a lot of fun. It was a good way to unwind, and clear my mind. If a new place opened up close by, I'd probably go and do it again.

Yep, it's going to be pretty epic, and super fast...but that's ok, I know what I'm doing. Just in case I crash and burn though, I'll let you know that in the advent of me crashing and burning there will not be a post because I'll be dead I guess. Lol.

Archery is cool. I do a little, for hunting, but I'm not great at it. I cold feed myself if I had to, or defend myself. I hope you get to do it again.

Well, I hope it all turns out ok. That's what the suit and helmet are for anyways. Enjoy

Lol...yeah it'll be fine, I know what I'm doing (usually).

That'll be exhilarating, I'm sure. Hope to see a post about it after the fact. I haven't ever seen the kart racing, but I am an avid watcher of your two Aussie countrymen, the Lawrence brothers in their supercross and motocross racing. Sadly, they were off yesterday, no racing...boo lol. It really does make my Saturday. Next week though, grrrr lol

I've been into motor racing for as lot as I can remember and will watch just about anything although I have my favourites. I like the blend of technology and mechanical engineering and human endurance and skill.

I ride motorbikes, not motocross, sports bikes, but watch the motocross a bit and enjoy that too.

I miss racing am am looking forward to doing some even though it's just a track day. I'm sure it'll be fun.

What a great opportunity you have been offered and it will make you super happy!!!! I'm so happy. I've seen this kind of races because my best friend's brother runs!

In my case, due to a strong tear and injury in my right leg some years ago, more efforts that I shouldn't have done, there are certain things that are hard for me to do like climbing, climbing too steep slopes, it hurts me and I shouldn't force it.

I still go up here to the mountain, I do it softly and slowly, but not like before... is it the age?

I've just arrived and now it's time to rest, see you tomorrow!

There's no point killing yourself (or permanently injuring yourself) for a little sport. Best you stick to the things you can do...cheaper that way also.

Absolutely right, one's health comes first!

I used to watch a lot of racing with my dad, but I kind of fell out of the habit over the years. My mom and dad still watch certain ones from time to time. I've actually started to become interested in the new drone racing and some of these new RC car tracks. They are kind of cool.

 3 months ago (edited) 

I've seen some drone racing and don't mind it. There's a manned drone racing series being developed here. (Air Speeders actually.) See the link. https://airspeeder.com/

Manned drones... Very interesting. It's probably interesting how they need to compensate for the added weight of a person in one of them.

They're pretty big things, flown by the pilot, but they look like drones.

Greetings brother. First I answer the question, many things that I didn't do in the past or that I did in the middle I am doing now, especially this year has been to fulfill dreams and discover myself; on the other hand I pass to greet you, and to tell you that I think it's great what you announce today. Your desire to do it is the most important thing here, and you already have the experience, so now you just have to live the moment and the adrenaline. Of course, be well prepared for everything to flow successfully and we hope to see those posts later 😅 Happy start of the week! ✌️

Life is far too short to stay within the lines others set for us, or so I believe; so I get out there, do things and call it life. I think it's a good way to go. You?

That's right bro! I just realized it after I was 30 😅

As I wrote in my previous posts
https://peakd.com/hive-177745/@duskobgd/zegxsgvvkr
when I was young, I was cheated by a young man, who sold me a stolen bicycle.
Before that, I liked to do bike modifications, buying new parts and installing them on old bikes, sometimes buying a damaged bike, fixing it up and selling it as good.
at the same time, I loved to ride bicycles.
After that scam, i stopped doing those repairs and i stopped riding bikes.
I regret that I made such a decision at the time, but the experience was very unpleasant and I no longer saw pleasure in bicycles.

Now, when I rented a bike and went for a ride, I remembered why I liked it... I don't think I'll ever do repairs again (I don't have time for that now), but even if I don't buy a bike, I'll occasionally rent and drive it when the weather is nice.

It sucks when something someone else does prevents or causes a person to stop doing something they're passionate about. Maybe you'll take it up again...I think you should, but it's your decision and I'd understand if you chose not to.

I do have a growing list of hobbies and although I haven't abandoned any of them, some are far less habitual than what I would want, but it is what it is; diving is one of them. Good thing is, with better weather here, opportunities to dive again in good conditions are way higher! Good luck on that track day! !BEER

Diving is a great interest, there's so much stuff down there, a hidden world to most people; you're fortunate to have the chance to enjoy it.

A whole new world indeed, and full of fascinating creatures!

I used to run almost everyday. Loved running, it was an escape for me. However I stopped after leaving the military due to unresolved back pain. Since that time shit has happened and needless to say back pain is the least of it. Regret? Yeah, I regret stopping every day. I feel if I would have gutted through and kept running then MAYBE some of these health issues I have now wouldn't be an issue, or would be less of one. There is no chance I will ever run again, there is irrepairable damage done that prevents that. However walking distances is still a possibility and something I plan to start shooting for.

Something like that, you enjoy and is good for you, must be difficult to lose as it's sort of seems like a double whammy. It's a shame it went that way but there's maybe some alternatives for you and walking is a good start. It's good for the body, mind and soul and much better than being sedentary.

For sure. Walking is almost as fun, just different I guess. In a way, it has allowed me to slow down and enjoy my surroundings more.

Hi galen, I have only stopped playing one sport that I loved: soccer. Because of a knee injury, then an operation that did not go well and in the end I had to give it up. From the injury I learned a lot about what I could do to overcome an obstacle. I spent two years of intense rehabilitation, with hard and painful physiotherapy sessions. And I hung in there... although the knee did not recover.

Have a great race.

Knee injuries aren't nice, but most sporting injuries aren't because they can be annoying and painful but also remove a person's ability to do something they love. I've had my share of them, one that needed surgery, so I understand what you sent through to some degree although my surgery went well and I got through the rehabilitation well enough to play again.

As I told you, it was an apprenticeship for me. A non-recommendable way to get to know me better.
Back to your post, I can't wait to see that post about the race.

It can be an emotional time, losing the ability to play ones sport, but also an opportunity to open up new doors.

That's right, in fact whenever one door closes, others open. You just have to know how to see them.

The trick is seeing them...well said.

👍

How nice it is to follow a hobby that you used to love, but for some difficult reasons of life you had to give it up.
But now comes what you once loved another one here to make you happy 😄😄😄😄

Four emojis? You must be very happy.

It has reminded me of when I gave up an old hobby so taking it up again is not like before but if it makes you feel alive and go back to those times it is priceless.

2 are for you the other are for me 😁.

That seems like a fair split.


Hey @galenkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP