You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breakfast in bed with G-dog

in Weekend Experienceslast year

You guys sound similar to us and I guess many others who have long busy weekdays.

I fully believe it's those small things that often mean the most as they can be done more often and the receiver has the chance to respond in kind, more often. As you say, knowing and understanding one's partner is the key and that's where communication comes into it. Grand gestures, well I do that too now and then, but it's the small things that we find mean the most and we work towards demonstrating how we feel to the other each day; good habits lead to a happier life I believe.

Sort:  

For sure. Communication is so important. My wife and I have realized over the years the majority of arguments we have always stem from lack of communication. Either that or miscommunication. I feel like I do a decent job, but I could do better at letting her know I appreciate her.

I think many are like that, the lack of communication (togetherness) spirals out of control and all of a sudden there's an argument about how the dish cloth is folded or that the cling wrap didn't get put in the drawer. It's bonkers. So, we need to communicate better, ok, let's do that.

I feel like I do a decent job, but I could do better at letting her know I appreciate her.

Tell her tonight when she get's home. You'll not regret it.

You know, not long ago a truck driver was killed here, squashed between his own prime mover (big rig). and trailer because he didn't apply the brake properly and was behind the rig coupling up air hoses. When they interviewed his wife a couple days later she (in tears said), I didn't tell him I love him that morning before he left for work.

We never know when this may happen to us, an aneurism during the night, car wreck, heart attack or stroke...we're pretty fragile animals...So, *I think we need to make time count, say how we feel and let those we love and value know we appreciate them.

I'm guilty of walking out the door without saying the right words, going to sleep angry and so on...I'm human. But to have a focus on it and do it all a little better each day is something we can do to move forward a little better today than we did yesterday.

You make some really good points there. I am a bit of a softy, so most of that isn't very hard for me. My wife is a bit more stubborn when she wants to be :) We drive to work every morning, but when I drop her off we always say goodbye. When we drive separate we always say I love you. When she is off in the summer I always kiss her before I leave in the morning. You are right, life is too short and too full of unknowns.

I figured you're on the right track but also wanted to tell the truck driver story. I have others similar and it's those that I remember at those times I have done it wrong.

We can't beat ourselves up over it, humans I mean, we're fallible, but we can recognise it and make changes where required.

Anyway, thanks for the dialogue, I appreciate engagement as it makes what I do here more valuable, my time I mean. No commenting would see me gone from Hive in a shot.

Have a great day, evening now and I just got back from culling kangaroos on the cattle farm. A shower is needed, then bed as I'll be up at 5am.

No worries, it was a good story and always important to remember. Sounds like it was a heck of a day! Take it easy!