You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 31: Bucket list destination or activity

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

I heard about the Mach 4 thing unofficially only about a month ago and whilst it's unsubstantiated I wouldn't be surprised if it's a thing; We'll know when China get's bombed from mainland USA I guess. Although, as you say, ICBM's are a more probable weapon system, no people and pinpoint accuracy. Let's see how it goes huh?

Sorry, I wasn't sure if I had mentioned Kokoda before, I make so many bloody comments you know. To get to 5,000 metres you'd definitely need to condition I think, it's doable though, just not by me these days. 🙂

Ah yes, the song the paratroopers made famous in World War Two; Yes I'm familiar with it...A good reminder to get it right.

Sort:  

Well, if it is anything other than total war, I suspect the drone swarm tactics that the Turks seem to have perfected in Artsakh will play more of a role than near hypersonic bombers. Honestly, I'm not sure why we're still going that route (faster bombers), the F-22 can already pull maneuvers that it's human pilot can't handle, as the speed increases the human pilot becomes more and more of a limiting factor. I know the Navy and USAF are working on getting directed energy weapons operational in the very new future, as soon as that is more than a novelty then speeds utility diminishes dramatically.

I was quite amused when I saw that we're selling Taiwan the HIMARS, the PLA will have fun with that if it ever comes to war with China.

You're good, I think I'd dropped into another comment chain about it because I recognized it from my World War 2 readings. There's the Continental Divide Trail here that runs from Mexico to Canada along the spine of the Rocky Mountains, I've wanted to hike a good chunk of that anyway, but it would do well for conditioning I suspect.