You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 39: Fear

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Everyone has fears - Although maybe a new-born does not at that early stage...Everyone else? They have fears. I never trust people who say they have no fear; I just can't. Firstly it's a lie and secondly, it's a lie.

The fear of failure is a good one though, if one is to have a fear. There are methods to reduce it and move forward without that limitation.

Indecision is worse than fear, mostly.

I guess it depends on the level of fear...Some could render every single other thing in life, ever, as insignificant. Or so I believe anyway. Fortunately most will never come to experience it though.

!ENGAGE 15

Sort:  

Perhaps it was my poor choice of words. As a Psychology graduate I know quite a lot about the role of fear...theoretically. But more fun is to reflect on your own emotions. I know a lot of thing that induce various levels of fear within me.

What I meant with indecision bla-bla was...the threat needs to be dealt with, not feared to the point it's too late to deal with it. I'm all about facing our fears and recognizing when it's fight and when it's flight. When it's call for help. When it's ignore. Etc.

I wish I could properly translate a slang saying in Bulgarian which says the Bulgarian fears two things above all — getting cold and "getting screwed by missing out on a good deal or making a bad deal" (that last part in one slang word only and it rhymes with cold). In original: "Да не настине и да не се мине."

Perhaps it was my poor choice of words. As a Psychology graduate I know quite a lot about the role of fear.

Maybe, I never even finished high school though, so maybe it's just me.

the threat needs to be dealt with, not feared to the point it's too late to deal with it

Legit. That's exactly how it is, in the classroom and in the field too.

That saying translates.