You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 25: Your phone photo

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

I usually do the peppermint essential oil on the temple thing first as I prefer not to take too many pills...If it doesn't work then I escalate the matter to something a little less natural and more lab made.

Having seen those muddy channels for myself I can totally understand...I don't think people who haven't experienced Australian beaches first-hand ever really get it. (I don't mean consumer-beaches like Bondi and Manly (hideous). We have some of the most amazing stretches of coastline in the world. Paradise? Maybe, something akin to it at the very least. 😀

Sort:  

Peppermint oil, eh? Might have to try that. Sage tea will sometimes do the trick, but if it's still kicking my brain around the following day I have recently started giving in and going for a paracetamol. They aren't always guaranteed to work either, though, which is why I try to avoid them too, if I can.

Never been to Bondi or Manly. We had a brief visit to the Gold Cost a few years ago, but it was still early autumn and a bit cold for doing much beach wise. Can't remember what the beach we visited was, but it was pretty empty and had big waves. Glenelg is a bit too consumer for me, but bearable.

I've done a little surfing (badly) at the Goldie...Not bad for surfing but it's certainly not my favourite beach. Don't worry, you're not missing out on anything at Bondi and Manly, just packed out tourist-loaded areas...I prefer more solitude than that. Silver sands here in Adelaide is nice, and Southport and Port Noarlunga beaches also. Of course, when out of the city there's so many good ones.

Try the peppermint oil on the temples thing...Seems to work about 40% of the time, for mild headaches. When it doesn't, pop Panadols like Tic Tac's. (This is bad advice, just saying.) 😆

So catch it early, then. I might try peppermint tea, too. After all, it's something that actually grows for me.

So you wouldn't fancy some of the Chinese beaches then? I wonder if they make Bondi look abandoned.

image.png

Hmm, let's go with a big huge no! Looks hideous. Give me an Australian beach over that debacle anyday.

I know a whole bunch of paradise grade spots on the Pacific coast but it's seriously too cold to get in the water if you are over 10 years old. Under 10 year olds don't have fully formed nerves in their skin and will frolic in frozen water if they can break the ice.

Is that why kids are in the water in any weather? nerves...I thought they were just crazy little buggers! :)