[WE101] Weekend-Engagement concept

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

WE-FRI (2).png

Time flies over us, but leaves its shadow behind.

- Nathaniel Hawthorne -



One thing common to all of us is time and that it only moves in one direction. I'm not one to let the fear of the time it takes to accomplish a task dissuade me from attempting it as the time passes regardless of whether I act or not. So...this week I'm asking you to act.

If you're looking for something to write about over the weekend take a look below for the options and if you feel like doing a post use my community, THE WEEKEND. Follow the rules below.


Follow these points for prize eligibility

  • Use #weekend-engagement as the first tag of your post
  • Post in THE WEEKEND community (do not cross-post)
  • Follow community rules
  • ENGLISH only (not bilingual)
  • Closes 08:30 UTC Monday 16th May (google it)
  • Don't plagiarise and link-credit photos

New WE BEN.png


Select something from below to write about

Feel free to do a fictional piece if you like

🕥 What age

What age would you like to be if you had the ability to choose a given point in your life, past or future, and why?

🕘 Stop time

If you had the ability to stop time (and remain there) which year, moment, event or era would you choose, and why?

🕗 Fast forward

If you could fast forward over a particular year of your life so you didn't have to live it which would it be, and why?

🕢 Slow or fast

Have you ever wished time would move more slowly, or quickly? When and why?


Pre post checklist.png

Curation may happen on quality original content so proof read, use in-focus and interesting pictures and take pride in your post. Your posts are a representation and showcase of you - Give people a reason to visit your feed.

orig we.png


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

If you'd like to sponsor a week of #weekend-engagement please feel free to transfer your sponsorship to my Hive wallet with the memo: weekend-engagement sponsorship.

Any image(s) in this post are mine and are not for your use

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

This set of topics couldn't have come at a better time @galenkp - you know, with all the crazy market action we just saw, I am sure that there are some people (myself included) that wouldn't mind going back three days in history right now 🤣

I think this is going to get some killer posts in the community, can't wait to sink my teeth in 🤓

Let's see what ones out of it over the weekend huh?

You are right, I believe there are bigger moments we want to see again that are bigger than the market right now.

I hope things get better in the crypto-verse as well

I always imagine that I can play with time and create my perfect life, but without abusing it because it generates anxiety 😂 It won't be easy to choose just one option.... Mr. Galen, you are a real piece of work.

Mr. Galen, you are a real piece of work.

Haha, yeah thank you.

Just to let you know, when someone is called a real piece of work in English, it's derogatory. An insult.

I know you don't mean it this way though. Made me laugh though.

image.png

Hahaha what a nasty and wrong translation. What I wanted to say is that you are a character, besides being special for what you do, for your ideas, witticisms.
I hope I have clarified the subject, at least I made you laugh.
I will be more careful with the vocabulary and I will not be so autochthonous 🤦‍♀

It's ok, I didn't think you were being nasty to me and yes, I got a laugh.

Happy weekend, (when it arrives.)

hahaha sometimes the Spanish translated into English makes us pass each thing, and it is not that the translator was wrong, the piece is a piece in any language what changes is the context and the culture in which it is applied.

Sometimes I think about how many insults I have made during my time in hive. @lisrl26 😉

Every time I read my posts translated into English, I ask the universe to understand what I mean hahaha, it's crazy and I try to write as easy as possible.
At least my insult today got a laugh. 🤦‍♀

I've really been looking for the perfect opportunity to write about a time travel into the past to go back to .y teenage years and make better decisions. Thank you for these great topics, like you very very sensitive and thoughtful to our heart's desires. @galenkp

This could be your opportunity to write that piece for sure. ✅

Yay. 💃💃
Thank you for the opportunity sir

I don't know about you guys but I have had the song 'If I could turn back time' stuck in my head since this topic was posted!
Here is my entry: https://ecency.com/hive-168869/@plint/we-101-pressing-pause-on

Oh no...Now I have too! Damn you. 🤪

Wow - this is an interesting set of questions for a week like we have just seen. It's going to be interesting, that's for sure!

Annabelle 😊

There's been some really excellent posts in response this week, some deeply personal ones and some fun ones. I've been happy with the quality so far.

That's good to hear! How many responses do you get on average for a WE, @galenkp?

Hmm, I'd guess at 45-50 on average although I've never counted them. Maybe I should hey? (More work for the G-dog). 😭😂

Oops, not if it's going to make more work for you!

70+ entries last week. I counted. 😁

Blimey, that's loads. Hope it didn't take too long to check @galenkp

I love these options more so that they are about time. I honestly wish time would move a little more slowly. But not during these turbulent times :)

untitled.gif
I think it should move faster though but let's see how it goes then.

All the best :) Have fun and enjoy the process :)

I will dear

untitled.gif

This looks like me on Monday mornings.

Hahaha, that's funny. But hope that was a joke or are you serious?

I'm glad you like them, as do I. Hopefully people can get something cool together to post about around these suggestions. I may do one myself also.

I'm sure there will be a lot of entries for these ones. And it would be great to read yours as well.

These are brilliant topics, let's see how it's going to be.
untitled.gif

I stared at this gif for too long and time travelled to the future. Thankfully my phone was there so I can write this comment, and stare some more and come back my own time. The even better thing is that here it's dinner time and I'm so bloody hungry!

Oh, go grab some food then, don't keep those guys waiting 😉.
untitled.gif

Wonderful topics, i really wish time would fly right now.

Thanks, I'm glad you think so.

Interesting topics! Hard to chose but I will see which one would be best for me. Thank you!

Nice topics this week.. Lemme think what to write.😁

Ok.

untitled.gif

This is my reality now. The time is running so fast these days.

@galenkp these are great topics to write on

Here’s another sets of interesting topics they seems to be directed to me 🤩 not going to miss out lol

Thanks for the opportunity @galenkp 🙌🙌

Wow, is it just me or your piece here @galenkp got a new cool look..😁😁
Deep topics you've got here by the way..

I rebranded it yes. What do you think of the new look?

Its quite beautiful..the blend of those colours are cool!

I guess it depends on the time i am in
Most times in good times i need it slow in bad times fast but let's see

Interesting. Thanks for commenting, feel free to join in on the concept of this initiative if you feel like it.

Funny thing is that I was actually writing a post about time when I noticed this week's topic :) haha.. anyway, here is my entry:
https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@thisismylife/my-most-valuable-asset-time

it's time to go to bed now though :) good night!

A few have said the topic is in line with their current thoughts. ✅

as always a great topic that makes us think, a trip in time, uff I have to think well about this, how many things I would like to have or have lived, we must analyze this well, greetings friend

Hi there and happy weekend!

I wanted to make people think a little this week and whilst it may be somewhat difficult I think it will bring out some good posts.

Hello I’m new here and I want to confirm if we can write on all these topics as one or we have to pick just one?

You can choose one, or all, it's your choice. It might be best to focus though, rather than scatter your thoughts over all? Either way, welcome.

Okay thank you

Hello, many ideas go through my head when reading this weekend's proposals, the concept of time leads us to think about those periods of our life in which we did something right or wrong. The four proposals are interrelated to each other when you look at them well. I have no doubt that this weekend I will be having a great time reading the posts. Here is my entry:

https://hive.blog/hive-168869/@nbarrios67/we101-weekend-engagement-concept-slow-or-fast-it-s-all-relative-and-capricious-with-time

Best regards.

I have seen your entry and skimmed it. I am on the way out to the market so will have to read it later. It looks good though, thank you for taking the time and effort to support this community and more thanks for sharing some of your personality here.

I hope you enjoy doing your shopping, I'm going out to do the same.

The community in general is very inspiring and great and helps us to be active, open minded. Happy weekend!

It's always good to check things out, I thought I had given up my participation but that's not the case.

Happy weekend to all.

https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@soyunasantacruz/we101-time-and-life

I appreciate your involvement but please don't feel obligated. Many who used to join in no longer do and that's ok, it's the individuals choice right? Your posts are good and I like seeing them, but please, don't do thins out of obligation, it's supposed to be fun, nothing more.

I have noticed that, that participation has dropped I don't understand why it will be 🤔, in no way I feel obligated, hahaha friend @galenkp still don't know me I am indomitable 😁🤣 I don't do anything out of obligation, if I stop enjoying something I don't do it.

And please don't contemplate removing your dynamic, I like it.

 2 years ago (edited) 

People tend to disappear when the price of Hive drops. They make other excuses of course, but that's the reality of it. I'm not at all bothered though, it's their loss, not mine.

Oh very nice, time! Our greatest enemy and yet dearest friend. I am sad I missed last weekends but will definitely be there for this!

You were missed Plint, I missed your post for sure, but it's ok...You're around this week so all is right in the world once more. 😆

I wish my life can go back to the time when i was baby.

Happy weekend

Lol, me too. 🙂

I know that feeling right? 😋

Right... let me take a swing at it...

Interesting topics today.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Swing away Zak. ✅

bradley approve 3.gif

!BBH

!ALIVE

!CTP

@galenkp! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (3/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

New week, new agenda!
I think it's done for me. :))

I saw. Good post too!

I really want to follow this theme. I hope I can (Excited) :)

Really happy to make the Time (lol) to get involved this week. Here's my entry xxxx
https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@trucklife-family/all-the-time-in-the-world-weekend-engagement

I made the time to read it just now. It's really nice. I'll comment on it in a bit.

My Entry : in PEAKD : https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@xykorlz/i-am-enjoying-my-time-on-the-farm

~~~ embed:1525658431486537729?s=20&t=H9FarDQVlfjudr58pXEPRg twitter metadata:eHlrb3Jsenx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS94eWtvcmx6L3N0YXR1cy8xNTI1NjU4NDMxNDg2NTM3NzI5fA== ~~~

Heya Galen; it's been a beautiful weekend here, even got to the beach twice. How'd yours turn out? Now - just have to survive the week. I need order and routine in my life, but I have a jury duty summons for Tuesday - making me feel quite apprehensive about stepping into this week, not knowing what the next two weeks will be like yet.

Anyways, I nearly almost hit one of the prompts this week ;) Here's the old entry:
https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@lordtimoty/we101-somebody-that-you-used-to-know

Been a good one, not doing much. Coffee with a friend Saturday for a few hours, and a few movies Saturday night. A sleep in Sunday morning and then off to my other place to edge and mow, tidy up in the yard and all. Home to do a video for my post I just put up on Hive and now...Answering comments, drinking coffee and maybe a nap.

I did Jury duty a few years ago. I was on a brutal bashing murder trial...Deliberated at the end after about nine hours a guilty verdict. It was a rather draining few weeks. I hope your jury service goes smoothly, and that you manage not to get on a child molestation case...They're very prevalent and I was fortunate to avoid it.

You know, I hadn't given much thought to the kind of case it might be. I just assumed it would be some road traffic infringement or something quite banal. I'm not sure I could stomach anything related to child abuse, or any kind of violence.

Not a fun fact, but a lot of abuse in our area apparently - the Port Macquarie court is readying itself for a twelve month case. We live in a beautiful part of the world, and, it's only twenty minutes from where William Tyrell disappeared! Not that they put that on the tourism brochures. In truth though, it's inconvenient - I lost two weeks in Term 1 with COVID, if I lose another 2 weeks here, will put me further behind - you know kids, they don't tend to do much when casuals are on classes. I have this really solid Advanced English group, but they tend to procrastinate if you're not on them to write, write, write - meant to be starting our poetry unit the week after next, but obviously, if I'm not there I'll delay it a week - and that impacts on TRIAL preparation. It's all just messy.

I've already had more than a few coffees today, just counting down time now until dessert, I found a block of hazlenut chocolate earlier. Let's just say, it won't be unopened for too much longer.

Anyhows, glad to hear your weekend has been smooth sailing, and hope that continues into your week ahead.
Tim

You'll not get much choice in the matter Tim, there's ways to work around it, but they're strict on it. My worst nightmare was a child case so fortunately that didn't happen. The murder case was...graphic. I was ok with it but understand than many would not.

I was lucky in that my work paid me in full and claimed back the little they can from the Sheriffs office and that it didn't impact my life too much. It's a month here, and I had to serve for the entire month, or until it was case closed.

All the best with your impending process.

These topics without much deliberations go for the best this weekend.
Choosing one out of these is really hard.
Let's see how it goes

Let's see huh?

Ouuu... You've given some pretty prompts Mr.

Hmm... Let's see: Can you please further explain how we're suppose to go about the second prompt please? I don't really understand it.

Is the idea to pick a place or moment we would live in that would be forever frozen in time or? Because, I'm imagining a scene where everyone is frozen permanently and you're the only one who can move.

Also, the 4th prompt is looking pretty good :)

You pretty much have the right of it. Let's say you want to be in the year 1096 as a member of the First Crusade. You write about that.

Let's say you want to be three years old again, you write about that.

Oh, so it's more of a going back in time sort of thing? The period doesn't necessarily have to be frozen or stoped then?

Nope, time cannot be stopped...Neither can you go back in time...But what the fuck, just give it a crack and have some fun. Don't over think it.

Damn it! I couldn't think of anything. I was gonna right an over the top fiction but alas, fucken writer's block came in.

All good tho, I'll just read what everybody else wrote.

You should have throat punched that writers block and written anyway.

There's always this week. Something different this week, could be some fun.

Good tip. I'll try that next time. Might end up in the hospital, but it could work.

I'll certainly look forward to it then.

This is such a great topic. I resisted though talking about saving my crypto portfolio by going back in time.

Here is my entry

https://ecency.com/hive-168869/@awah/we101-slow-or-fast

Thanks !PIZZA

Thanks mate, I'm heading over to have a look now.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@awah(2/5) tipped @galenkp (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thanks for this wonderful initiative, remind me of someone i so much admire

https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@burlarj/if-i-had-the-ability-to-stop-time

Here is my entry

Thank you for joining in.

Hello, This is my participation in the initiative.Thank you for this initiative, which inspires me to create and publish.

https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@thaismarags/we101-stop-time-year-1978

🙂

Hi @galenkp , happy week, thank you very much for your valuable comment.

Hi @devania, thank you for getting involved. I'm heading over to look now.

Hello friend, as always a pleasure to participate in your proposals, I leave you my contribution this weekend, I hope you had a great day, greetings from Venezuela.

https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@ikigaidesign/we101-weekend-engagement-concept-how-time-goes-by

Thank you once again for entering, I'll go and have a look now. Have a nice evening.

Time always has a great effect in our daily lives
Time is money also😂

Nice topic selections

There are 2 pages
Pages