When Sunday goes fast

in Weekend Experiences3 months ago (edited)

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (1).jpeg

Far too long, is precisely how long it has been since I've attended a motor racing event and this weekend I was pleased to break the drought and finally get to an event, the Adelaide Motorsport Festival, which is held around a part of the Formula One Grand Prix circuit (not the full circuit) just east of the city. It's a homage to all things motor sport (from a road racing perspective) and if you're keen to see the list of the competitors you can follow that link back there a little Here's a summary: Formula One, TIPO Formula One, Touring cars, Heritage touring cars, Exotics, Prototypes, Motorcycles, Rally, GT cars, Drift and more.



The event attracts entrants from around the country and other parts of the world with drivers and personalities from the global motorsport world flying in to get involved...it helps that the event is staged only a week prior to the Formula One Grand Prix on Melbourne which is on next week.

At this years' event, held today and yesterday, names like F1 World Champion Damon Hill from the UK, current F1 driver Valtteri Bottas from Finland, Guenter Steiner ex-Haas F1 team boss and other such notables attend and are accessible for the attendees to meet and mingle with. There's a cool video of Guenter Steiner getting driven around the track on the website if you're keen, here.

I was there for a look around, to enjoy the spectacle of it, some on-track action and to catch up with some friends who work in race teams that have entered...access all areas is a nice thing.

It was an enjoyable day, although a little hot and humid, and I managed to see some iconic racing cars from all over the world from historic and rare racing cars to cars that currently still race. Of course, the supercar brands like Ferrari, Pagani, Lotus, Lamborghini, Brabham, McLaren and others were represented both on and off track. I didn't take many pictures because I was too engrossed in the on-track action and overall atmosphere and the few I took were on my phone so I was limited to what I could get. Here's a few though, just a glimpse at what was an awesome day.

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (2).jpg

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (1).jpg

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (7).jpg

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (6).jpg

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (4).jpg

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (5).jpg

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (3).jpg


I've followed motor racing since I was a little kid and have been to a lot of events; until the Chinese flu hit the world in 2020 I attended the Singapore F1 Grand Prix (which is an awesome event) every year and would attend somewhere around 4-6 other events throughout the year. The pandemic put a stop to it - and a hectic work schedule along with commitments and responsibilities which take time away from some of the things I'd rather be doing - but it was really cool to get out there today, revisit the smell of racing fuel and the scream of a purpose built race engine at full song. Glorious.

Are you into motor racing and if so which races around the world have you been to, or locally in your area, or what's your favourite category?



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

Sort:  

From a very young age I was going to watch car races and also motocross from the stands, the last time I went I really enjoyed the races at the spring brake in Daytona USA it was great Galen, by the way that yamaha bike is fabulous, I'm glad that in Adelaide your city these events concentrate fans of all sizes.

I'm glad your weekend was great. Happy start of the week to you. G'day Galen.

We should nickname you #racechick or #motogirl

I hope you had a good weekend too.

😁🙈🤣
untitled.gif

Lol...that's exactly what I had in mind.

When I was very young that's what I did driving my bike, 😂 and I didn't miss any motocross rally 🙈😍

I love the way car races shoot up my adrenaline and I used to watch them on TV, especially formular1 races but with too many things on my mind recently, I have not watched them for awhile.

I like the adrenalin of it but also the technology and what goes on behind the scenes to make a car race well, including the fitness and skill of the driver. It's all good!

Hey Galen! Do you know Emma-h/h2 irl? I got the feeling that maybe you did, and if so, do you know if she is alright? Been missing that gal! If I'm right, plz tell her grindan misses her!

Sorry for the OT comment...

I could feel the vibe of the race excitement, but couldn't think of anything interesting to say about that 😂. Regulated racing is kind of boring in the US, it's awesome to see how vibrant it is in other places!

As far as races in my area, the coolest I've seen are drag races, which are super popular where I grew up (Cleveland, Ohio) 😎

I do yes. Something quite tragic occurred a little while ago so it'll be best to proceed under the assumption she's not around anymore. I know it doesn't fully answer your question but it'll have to do.

We have a strong motor racing culture here and there's so many categories which is nice for a fellow like me who loves motor racing. We've got some legit drag racing events coking up soon, funny cars, top fuel, door-slammers and so on...It's going to be epic.

Thank you for the response on that. I've thought about her randomly maybe 12 times this week, and I find that is often a nudge from the universe to reach out. I hope whatever has happened, she is surrounded by love and finds healing. 💚

I can see why you'd be into motor racing- I'd certainly go to races here if formula one cars were more popular. The diversity of vehicles in general is awesome- I hope we get to see snaps of the drag races! Door slammers are badass 😎

Peace; hopefully she found some peace.

I used to watch it with my dad when I was younger, but I don't really follow it these days. We have a local dirt track down the road that brings in racers from all over the region. I haven't been there since I was a kid though. We also have a local University that has an International Auto show every year and I used to love walking through the vendor area and getting all the stickers, pencils, pens, and other junk they gave away for free.

Hobbies and interests come and go I guess, this one stuck with me from a young are though.

Just 3 words: I loved it

I can imagine the excitement of having a full pass at such an event.

Although I'm sure the photos don't do justice to the experience, I feel like I attended it with you.

The other day, I was going to ask if you had been to the Australian Grand Prix, and today you mention that you went to the one in Singapore. Good envy! 😂

That will be one of the first things I do when I leave my country. And, of course, I've been a Formula 1 fan for years

There was an F1 GP held in my home city for years, I mention it in this post, and I have also been to several others around the place, so yeah, been to many.

¿No eran solo tres palabras? 🤔

I tried 😅, but too many cars together, like in your post, impossible with only 3 words

Well, once many years ago I attended a car competition, nothing fancy like these, but it was exciting to see them run, these photos were great anyway, greetings.

Greetings and thanks for stopping by.

Those cars and bike look amazing. I find the wheel covering interesting. I'm guessing those are the ones competing, and maybe they won't change it for the event. I haven't been to a race event before, but I have watched some races from time to time. It was during the era of Michael Schumacher, and Mika Hakkinen. Glad you were able to go to an event again after a long time.

They're called tyre blankets and they heat up the tyres closer to operating temperature prior to heading into the track. Most racing categories use them.

Oh cool. Today I learned. Thanks.

I am happy for you that the drought is over. 😀 Looks like you have a great event and a fun way to spend Sunday.
Your story is similar to that of my husband's. He started going as a child with his father - then he went with me now our children. Clearly a big fan.
I tag along for the excitement. 😀 I hope to go to Zandvoort at least once since it is not far away.
Hopefully you will get a chance to attend the Singapore races again one day.

There's an F1 race at Zandvoort, 23rd-25th August...could be a good opportunity for you.

Yes indeed - just need a bit of planning. 😀

What I can tell you are two things: they are amazing pictures!!!! I'm glad you were able to go!

Y ... I don't know anything about racing or cars but my grandfather was fascinated by it, he used to go like you to the events in the city and he used to race in a boat. If he was alive I would surely go with him to those places.

You brought back good memories!

It's never too late to get into motor racing, so there's hope for you yet.

Well... I have learned a lot of things... it could be hahaha or accompanying someone... better.🤣

This sounds like a fun event!

F1... Go McLaren! Can't wait for next weekend!

Yeah, it's a great event, the tenth year this year, I've been to nine I'd them.

Next weekend in Melbourne will be interesting, I hope there's some good racing.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Wow! Super cars and bikes. They are looking so cool. After seeing the first photo I thought it was a toy. 😁
I think you enjoyed the day.

I enjoyed the day for sure, it was worth the effort.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Your comment is not relevant and I don't believe you have read the content of my post. Please make sure you read the content and make relevant comments.

Of course, you can choose to do as you wish here on the blockchain so irrelevant commenting is your choice, but remember that everyone else can chose how they approach the blockchain as well. Got it?

Well I’m sorry if commenting on your post with my apologies seem irrelevant and irritating, but I’m only here trying to let you know how sorry I am for my action on the blockchain, I don’t take pride in that and I’m just asking you to pardon. We are spreading great news about hive and we have some people we are glooming on the blockchain, I’m not doing my own thing, I made mistakes and I’m sorry 😞