A disaster weekend [WE121]

Parque del Oeste.jpg

Many years ago, working for a very important lumber group in my country, one Friday afternoon, all of us who worked there were notified that we had to work the weekend that was about to begin because there would be a special workday.

Complaints were not long in coming and I was one of those who complained because I was off work that weekend and had plans to go out with the family. I had promised my children that I would take them to a very nice inn by the beach.

My argument was that since I was from the computer department, it was not necessary for my entire team to be present, that only the person on duty was enough. But the senior management was strict and said that all the staff was required in all positions.

I came home with the bad news for the kids and saw their disappointed faces; that made me very sad. I talked to my wife and asked her to explain that the following weekend I would take them to the beach.

It was dawn and the sun looked timid as if it lacked battery, the clouds did not allow the sun's rays to illuminate as usual and the morning was very cold.

I got ready to go to work, said goodbye to the family, and boarded my vehicle to go to the company in a mood like the weather in the morning; totally cold, with no desire for anything.

On the way, I was thinking that, perhaps, this call to work on the weekend was like a message given by the universe because it seemed to be a rainy weekend. That had been said on the news, but since that information is never accurate, I didn't give it any importance. But on my way to work, I thought that this time they were right and so I should not go to the beach.

When I arrived at the offices, I found an unpleasant atmosphere, everyone looked like me, with long faces, discouraged, and seemed to be moving in slow motion. The retail area had not opened and I thought that possible when it did, I would feel a change, but that did not happen.

Normally, when the doors are opened for customers, there are always a large number of them there to make their purchases of our products, but this time, there was no one there. We had never seen anything like this before. That day was going to be a long day; it was everyone's idea.

An hour later, the first customer arrived and minutes later more began to arrive. This was a good thing because, with the sales movement, it would spread to the other departments and the activities would become more enjoyable and the day would not be so boring.

While I was in my office, on the second floor, the accountant came up to me and told me that they were stealing on the lower floor, in the sales department, right at the cashier's desk, and from everyone present.

Since I had access to the security cameras, I immediately looked for that area on the monitor indeed an armed robbery was taking place, and as far as I could see there were more than four individuals. I called the security guys and they were already aware and were preparing for an offensive.

The accountant took his cell phone and proceeded to call the police and suddenly we all thought that the criminals might come up to our offices; fear was running high.

I proceeded to block access to the data department and hid my wallet and cell phone; I didn't want them stolen.

Many ran to the conference room, I never knew why they did that. Since I had a key to access the storerooms, I decided that I could sneak in and see what was going on. But I don't know what was wrong with my hand that I couldn't open the door, the key wouldn't turn and my impatience to get out was exaggerated. I had no choice but to go with the others; to the conference room.

As I had hidden my cell phone, I was incommunicado and that created a greater state of anxiety, the good part was that one of the girls did carry hers and was able to communicate with one of the secretaries on the first floor and she informed her that there was a shootout between the criminals and the security guys. The criminals fled and the security guys went after them. In the office, we heard the gunshots and in our minds, we could see dead and wounded people all over the store. Fortunately, no one in the company was hurt, but the criminals did not fare well, in their escape they collided with a police unit, and in the confrontation, they were killed.

I remember very well that in the conference room someone asked if blood smelled like shit. What a strange question. Of course, we all responded that that was an absurdity and asked him to give us an explanation for such an absurd question.

He replied that it seemed to him that I was hurt because I had a stain on my pants. I hadn't noticed and when I heard this person say that, I thought he was hurt, but he wasn't; he was pooped.

Parque del Oeste (1).jpg

This was the worst thing that ever happened to me on a weekend, that was a disaster of a weekend.

Since I had had that accident, I had to leave and go home.

As I was on my way, I realized that the sun was in full splendor and that there was a chance to go to the beach with my children.

Upon arriving home, the children shouted with joy and immediately went to get their bathing suits and clothes to spend the night at the lodge.

I arrived and went to the bathroom to take a shower and take off my shitty clothes.

When I came out of the bathroom, I saw that everyone was angry, including my wife.

I asked them what had happened and the answer was that they were not going anywhere because the car smelled like shit.

My children never forgave me for that, and neither did my wife.

After that, I had to leave the company because I was the subject of jokes, mockery, and so on.

Definitely, blood doesn't smell, what smells is the...

Separador GerMan.jpg

With these letters I am participating in [WE121] Weekend-Engagement promoted by @galenkp.

If you would like to participate in this initiative, just click here

I invite @elamaria and @lisrl26 to enjoy this good weekend.

Separador GerMan.jpg

Note: All images are my sole property unless otherwise noted
Thank you for your visit and for your comment.

I use CANVA to edit the images you see in my publications.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It's really great to hear a real-life story from you despite the fact this one could have been quite traumatic for all concerned. I understand how terrible and frightening this would have been for the staff and am pleased to hear the criminals didn't get away with their crime.

Situations like this can be very difficult to deal with and everyone deals with them differently. In your case...well, the fact you were ridiculed for your reaction speaks less about you and more about those fucktards who mocked you.

Often in cases like this, armed robberies, the trauma left by the incident has lasting effects on the innocent victims so I hope that wasn't the case. I'm saddened to hear your family were a little unforgiving also.

It's often impossible to know how one will react to a life-threatening event and, mostly, people generally don't react as well as they think they will.

Thanks for sharing this personal story.

At the time it was tragic and embarrassing for me, but now I take it as something to tell the grandchildren and laugh about.
Thank you my friend for allowing me to participate, I really enjoy these weekends when I write for the community.

That's the way to approach it; it wasn't a life-defining moment.

The smell of shit is not really important, important is being able to get out of a situation that could have been the worst. Too bad your family didn't see it that way because I would have gone to the beach happy to celebrate the return to life and more surrounded by family and a radiant sun, what more could you ask for. Thanks for sharing your real life story. Greetings and blessings.

Hi, Flor (@floreudys79).
At the time it was something of fright and sadness, today it is something to tell and even laugh about.
They are life experiences that help you to improve and to realize those around you.
Thank you very much for your visit and your nice comment.
May blessings and success be with you and yours.

That's what life is about collecting good or bad memories is life. It's good that you're fine today and you can tell about it and laugh at it hahahaha. Thank you for your beautiful words and Blessings towards me and my family, they are reciprocal for you and yours. Greetings friend.

While reading this, I was like watching an action movie.. It must be unforgettable but too scary... I guess I would leave the place immediately once I know that incide.. I don't want to see blood..

Hi, Jane (@jane1289).

On that day there was a lot of action, fear, uncertainty, mockery, and misunderstanding of the family, there were many things lived that today give me some laughter because it was overcome and did not affect me psychologically. They are very scary events that affect anyone.

Thank you for your visit and your wonderful comment.

May the universe fill you with blessings.

Omg! That was one disastrous weekend... I can only imagine the embarrassment you must've felt. But I really think it was unfair for your coworkers to mock you for something that was totally out of your control. Permit me to say that I'm glad you left the company.

Also, I'm glad no one got hurt in that life-threatening situation. I would've equally faced great anxiety if I were in your shoes.

Greetings and thanks for sharing this! ❤️.

Hi Dimma (@dimmablogs).
I am very grateful for your visit and your nice comment.
Sometimes we have to live in somewhat desperate situations to realize who surrounds us.
When I retired from that company, I opened my own office, and from then on it was much better.
May the universe bless you abundantly.

You're welcome... I'm really happy for you.

Bless you too Sir! 😊

Dude, who would have thought you'd poop your pants from the scare hahaha. I would not have liked to be in your place, what a shame.
I was also a victim of a collective robbery in the office many years ago, luckily nobody soiled their pants.

Of course that only happens to me hahahahahaha

untitled.gif

You are a bad friend hahahahahaha

What a horrible weekend, as soon as I read that your hand couldn't respond I started laughing and then I couldn't stop until the end. Not to make fun of you but because of your way of telling the story, I imagine that's the purpose of making us laugh.

What an ill-intentioned question from that fellow, he knew very well what had happened to you, in a moment like that I feel more empathy than the desire to make fun.

It's a good thing you left that company, I can imagine how uncomfortable it was for you in the days following this event.

And even more so having to explain to your wife everything that happened and to your children, who were somehow suspicious.

Thank you for opening up to us like this, thank you for your courage, I have a story like this that I didn't want to remember but I don't dare to tell.

@germanandradeg 🥰

My dear friend Ana María (@soyunasantacruz), I'm glad you liked the story and that it amused you.
Many times we live moments of discomfort that makes us feel embarrassed and that are taken advantage of by some to annoy.
Many of those who know me say that I bathe in oil because everything slips me and they are right, bad things should not be given importance, just learn from them and surely after time, they will be reasons to laugh.
Thank you very much for your visit and that comment that made me laugh.
I already want to read your story.
Take care of yourself beautiful.

I wanted to write it but it won't come out, I'm going through a stage of blockage, after being active for almost 2 months.

Thank you.

hahaha you and your things my dear Germen we chose the same topic, but my experience although my work experience also developed in another area you will read it in a while I love you very much my soul friend thank you for making me laugh for a while.

Thank you my friend for reading me and giving me that laughter that feeds my creativity.

When I arrived at the offices, I found an unpleasant atmosphere, everyone looked like me, with long faces, discouraged, and seemed to be moving in slow motion.

Ha! That sounds like a real office alright. But damn man, I wasn't expecting that twist at the end. I've never experienced armed robbery before myself but I can understand how scary the situation must've been for you.

I remember very well that in the conference room someone asked if blood smelled like shit.

Lol, you know what's funny here, the fact that I feel like this is the exact same kind of stupid question I would've asked myself. I believe blood smells like copper iron though.

Also, don't beat yourself up sir. During these types of scary incidents, it's uncertain to determine how one would react. Pooping your pants during an intense situation, is actually quite more common than you'd think.

But common man! You didn't have to show us the actual stain😂

Hello Echezona (@zeraton).
A thousand thanks for your visit and your nice comment that made me laugh.
Good luck to you.

Ahh... But of course! My pleasure.

Auch, sprechen sie Deutsch?... I ask because of your username 😅