WE84 post topics: Music - Dance With My Father Again.

"WE84 post topics: Music" You can also join [here].

This is my first time here after being away for so long and I want to thank @galenkp for this brilliant initiative and a way to help everyone express their deepest thoughts. Thank you for this sir.

The topic of the weekend - Tell us about a piece of music or song you love, that moves you, and makes you feel deeply. Share the link to the music if you like.

My response:

I love music and I have listened to every kind of music anyone can think of. I am picky when it comes to music because I want music that speaks to my soul, my mind, my head and is relatable. I am someone who feels deeply and I am highly sensitive which is why I listen to every music with intention of gaining something from it or to draw a connection from it.

I used to be very close to my dad but ever since he was snatched by the cold hands of death, there is this music I listen to whenever I miss him and I still cry to date when I hear the song.

Title: "Dance With My Father Again"
Artist: Luther Vandross

YouTube Link:

IMG_20220114_205055.jpg

I can never get over this song and I can't help but shed tears every time I listen to it because of how much my father means to me. He is gone but I still remember him before and after his death. He died in 2006 after a prolonged illness which we didn't even think so much of. He was a good person, kind-hearted and a people's person. He didn't and never joked with his family and I was so close to him.

This song reminds me of him as Luther Vandross explained his side of the song through his words. I can relate to this song because every night I also hear my mother cry herself to sleep because she missed the only man she loved and has been with for most of her life. It's always hard to move on from such an experience.

This song is evergreen and it gets me emotional. The beat, the instrument and the rendition were all perfect as the artist speaks of my situation in a way I might never find the right words to speak due to grief and hurt.

We feel and hurt differently and that's why despite the years that have gone by with my father's demise, I still couldn't let go of his memories and this song always bring me back to him in thoughts. Someone who means the world to you can no longer be seen or felt but this song just does it for me, EVERY TIME because I feel it deeply. A lot is going through my head right now and I won't cry...no, I would fight the tears tonight.

If I could get a final chance to dance with my father, just like Luther, I would play a song that would never end so my siblings and my mother can all gather around him in a warm embrace and soak up the moment and this is the power of music and the power it wields. This song is perfect for me to remember my dad and that's why I have come to love it over the years. Every time I change my phone, this is the first music I download on it before anyone else.

When I saw this prompt, this was the song that came to my head and after going through the questions I just knew this was it for me.

Thank you all. Thank you sir for this opportunity.