High School Friends Get Together | Decades of Friendship

Would you agree that the best part of school life is high school?

I spent 17 years of my life in school (2 years kinder, 6 years elementaty, 4 years high school and 5 years college.) Two years into working in an office, I felt that it was so much fun and easier to be in school - and nothing beats high school.

Perhaps a good chunk of it comes from the the people I spent my time with. Just today, I was able to relive the good memories of my high school life with none other than my high school friends.

SDD - HS 1.JPG

Meet my people, my high school classmates/friends.
From left: Lon, Vin, Dano, Christian, Rizza, Ritch, Shiela, Sette, Mac, Dennis (friend's husband), myself, Mafe

This mini-reunion was organized by the queen of the group who bonds all of us together, Rizza, to celebrate a milestone on our friends' life. This is sort of a farewell party for Christian and Rosette (HS sweethearts to now husband and wife) who are moving to Canada for good.

SDD - HS 2.pngWe are just so happy for these two because for the longest time (7 years) they have been in a long distance relationship when Christian decided to work abroad. Christian was the businessman in our class back in high school and Rosette was just this bubbly girl in the class.

We've had so much fun catching up over the delicious food that some of our friends personally prepared. It was quite some time since I laughed real hard on people's jokes to the point that laughing made me cry. It is just awesome to be with people whose silliness is the same as yours.

SDD - HS 3.png

When we got tired of eating (man, there was a lot of food on the table), we decided to hang out at the receiving area while other played cards.

I went with the couples as they toured around the newly built house of the hosts. The get together was held at Mafe & Dennis' house, which was completed 3 months ago.

SDD - HS 5.png

Mafe is my longest friend in this group. We have known each other since we were 6 or 7 years old, being classmates for 10 years from elementary til high school. Dennis is her husband who she met in college. We were able to keep the friendship to the point that I became one of her bridesmaids and a godmother to their kid. <3

I am just super happy with all the milestones of my friends, new house, new car, new business, promotion. From being just high school classmates who got stressed with school works and exams to becoming the professionals we are now. Our lives have come a long way --so is our friendship.

SDD - HS 6.jpeg

Is high school the best part of my school life? Well, I got this bunch for decades, through thick and thin, I know that I have these people who remains. High school is great but even better is the friendship we have now.

Sort:  

I also spent 17 years in school (one year of kindergarten, 8 years of elementary, 4 years of high school and 4 years of college). I loved the most those 4 last years when we all knew why we are there, and we honestly supported each other in our studies. Friendships that were deeper than in other life stages were made and the connection stayed even when we finished University. The high school was also great, a few years ago I organized a meeting, as I wanted to see all my classmates once again, and although we all have a few decades more (:D) we felt that time stopped, as we are still the same young as we were. Strange but good feeling :))

This is true! I haven't seen them for months (some for years!) but it feels just like yesterday when we last talked. True friendship is an amazing time loop

Congratulations @glade1989! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.
You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.
You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!