You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 15: Funny or interesting

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago (edited)

Heres a funny story from my early 20s. My cousin and i were once in a rock band. He was the singer and i was the bassist. The band eventually went on to be pretty big playing all the big tours and my cousin a current top 40 music producer and song writer. Anyways, at the time the band was relatively small and we entered into a battle of the bands contest at universal studios hard rock cafe there.

So the night of the contest we're all there at the hard rock cafe. Were all set up and waiting for our turn on stage to play our set. So what do we do. Well most everyone else in the band played it cool and just mingled. Me. I went to the bar and started plowing shots.

A few people there knew me from prior gigs as i was a bassist with a reputation of being a showman on stage. So they kept buying me drinks. Maybe to sabotage the band so that their band could win. There was a 1000 dollar cash prize involved. Maybe just cause they thought i was cool. I dunno.

So anyways about two hours in of me just drinking and getting drunker and drunker i notice my band mates across from the bar giving me death stares. I notice the bands girl friends giving me the knock it off gesture and glaring at me disapprovingly.

But i was confident and blew them off.

Anyways its show time. I get up on stage and am staggering around. I almost fell over and nearly tripped over my own amp cord. I could barely see the audience.

Howd the gig go?

I nailed it. Luckily i was a damned good bass player and the songs were cake to me. Even trashed i played the set perfectly.

Some people thought my drunkenness on stage was just an act that night. But i really was that drunk.

We also won the contest hands down. We crushed the competition that night. One of the judges mentioned that it was the drunk bass player that helped seal the win. It was just so rock n roll to him.

Later i promised the band mates id never do that again.

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited) 

That's a rockstar story if I ever heard one! I'll be honest, I would probably have got you in a headlock and dragged you away from the bar if I was in your band...But it worked out and your rockstar drunken antics won the day!

Good story. Do you slap dat bass still?

!ENGAGE 25

Eventually i think my cousin dud kick my ass for something once but i can't remember what. He's like 6'5"

Now that ass kicking I wold have liked to see...David versus Goliath, literally.

Eh i held my own. Hes a big clumsy guy.

bigger they are, the harder they fall...Been my experience anyway and it's a good line used on many movies too! Lol.

It was at a weekend bbq. I think he fell into the pool with his clothes on. Back in the days before smart phones constantly being in your pocket. Nobody got too hurt luckily

 4 years ago (edited) 

Lol...The phone thing...Yeah, falling in the pool now means a whole new thing huh? Phones, electronic car keys...Can be costly.

Yup slapping is my specialty

I played bass guitar for a while. Was ok, could get it to make a noise. Piano was my thing though, and trumpet for several years too. Started piano when I was 4 years old and played for years and years. I have one in my office here...Covered in Lego builds.

20200919_094812.jpg

Such a cool collection! I guess that piano has not been played again.

The keyboard still operates...I play each week.

I mean if it worked, why mess with a good thing? Lol, I love the story. Everybody always remembers the ones where you got drunk and screwed everything up, good to hear one of the success stories!

They key to performing drunk is to practice drunk! Now where did i put my beer.

Chemical recall! That's how I used to study for tests in college. It's probably hiding behind the bourbon :)

You know theres some validity to that theory. I know guys that can only play drunk. Me I'm pretty good all around. Shitfaced is not my musical sweet spot. But a drink in and im nicely loosened up.

I know what you mean. I used to play first person shooters competitively a bit, a few drinks and I was even more on point than sober but once I got drunk it went downhill pretty fast.

Ohhh Jeeze! Now that's a story for the ages. Good on you Dave.

I only thought I was adequate when I was drunk. Real delusions of adequacy, matter of fact.

I also occasionally thought I could channel Parnelli Jones and my driving sent me to jail more often than channeling my inner Ali did.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That's quite a story. I am actually wondering if it is not one of your tall-tales. It reads like one.
It reminded me of the time I got so drunk, celebrating with some college friends that we had past a tough sophomore course, that I did not remember anything from the previous night. I was only warned to avoid a certain twin girl who lived in the same building where we rented an apartment and who was a karate champion. Allegedly I had spat on her from the second floor as she was passing. To this day I avoid that woman and I have never been able to confirm that story.

You accidentally spit on a karate champion!. Good thing she didnt come up to your apartment. Hey it happens we all do crazy stuff when were drunk.

Oh, yes. She showed some class and mercy.
After that incident, I spent a whole year without tasting even a drop of alcohol. I developed a visceral aversion to licor. The hangover was brutal that time, but I think that my body was just not made for that

I once spent a whole year without s drop of alcohol gut that was because i was still recovering from a horrific night drinking a litre of vodka...cheap vodka

Hahaha, what happened to those people kept on giving you drinks? Maybe they just thought that the money they bought you drinks was just wasted because you nailed it. I was wondering with that woman what kind of gesture she did while looking at you? hahaha

You just played them after all, how bad of you. lol

She gave me the old finger like a knife across the throat gesture to stop drinking. I smiled back raised a glass and then downed it and asked for another.

hahaha bad-ass dude, hahaha

Lessons, advice and learning.
Only to be repeated in an upcoming competition 🚀