Weekend at the Dentist

We'd be so much better off without wisdom teeth

On friday, my wife had to have one of her wisdom teeth extracted. As you know, there are very few people on earth whose wisdom teeth had grown normally without ever representing a problem.

I have heard that there are some people who never grow wisdom teeth or never require surgery, but they live in Mars or Venus.

I have been wondering if the brillian scientist on earth will ever see the need to work on some genetic tinkering that would allow future humans to be born without appendix and never grow wisdom teeth.

IMG-20220521-WA0036.jpg

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Two of my wife's wisdom tooth were impacted (growing sideways). One had erupted partially and had a cavity.

It was a complicated extraction which had some risks of nerve injury. Luckily, Dr Arevalo and his wife were very patient and did a great job, especially at keeping my wife calmed.

IMG_20220520_122917.jpg

It took them longer than expected to extract every part of the tooth (usually detist cut the tooth in several parts for easier removal). There was a final piece that refused to be pulled out and sort of "hid" stubbornly. My wife does not do well under any kind of anesthesia and she had some really bad moments. It was exasting just to see it.

I had taken my laptop to continue working on some pending proofreading orders, but I was unable to do much.

IMG_20220520_130233.jpg

After a couple of days, she is doing better. Still some pain, but no complications so far.

We all have had serious problems with our teeth, despite our dental care and frequent visits to dentists. I am next in line for two repairs and one extraction and @manujune must have her four third molars removed. June is gonna be a painful month, tooth-wise.

Thanks for stopping by

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Hive gif 2.gif

Sort:  

Teeth are so annoying - my kid also needs a dentist visit and I think I'm dreading it more than she is.

I'm glad your wife is doing better, she didn't look very comfortable in the 2nd picture.

Thanks
At all. She even took her shoes off. She was having a hell of a time. The dentist were very kind and hekped her keep her cool.
Good luck with your kid's dentist appointment.

I hope she's feeling better today Henry. Impacted wisdom teeth are horrible so hopefully once she's recovered she won't have to deal with anymore pain.

Have a good week

Thanks. She's doing better.
Yes, the good thing about these painful surgeries is the finality of it.
No more trouble from that one 🙂