You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 34: Who has influenced you

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

Hmmm...tricky. I'd say, considering my current situation, one that has greatly influenced me in pursuing my career would be my professor back in college. She's a bit older than us but whenever she talks, it feels like she's way on a different level than us. It's like, you get to see someone with a vast amount of experience right before your eyes. Not to mention, I have to admit that I was quite jealous that she's able to think and act the way she does.

But of course, she's our professor. So I think, it should be given.

I remember her saying, "There are a lot of resources available for us today, so we shouldn't be limited with our ideas." Also, a question from her did such an impact on me, "How long will you ever remain an employee?". - that was when we were talking about jobs and life after school.

So here I am trying to figure out everything my own way. And as of now, trying to get back the time I wasted (though I don't want to think like that) succumbing to depression.

One that comes to mind, "struggle to survive" - this was a dialogue from one of my favorite anime (Ascendance of a Bookworm) which was released last year. I like how it sounds that I thought, everything I went by even up to this day, all makes sense.

Sort:  

If this professor of yours has helped you to think outside of the square, to push the limits of thought and cause you to foster paradigm-expanding thoughts than I'd say she is certainly a great influencer and has had a positive impact upon you. It is good to hear you have heeded her lessons and are applying the processes she has instilled in you.

Depression is what it is I guess sir, it is not a positive thing, and so I'm not surprised you have come to see suffering through it has wasted some of your time. It's ok though, because you've seen it and seem not to want to have depression waste any more of your time...I think that's one of the steps critical to breaking free of the mooring lines of depression which hold you in the harbour.

Cast off those lines, head out of the harbour and hoist the sails mate, they'll catch some wind and help carry you towards new horizons.

!ENGAGE 25

I hope they would. That's the main reason why I became a writer and how I write the way I write. This pen name imawreader was also born because of that. I almost forgot why I wanted to become a writer. Thanks for reminding me!

You're welcome. It's good to remember the reasons behind the way we think and act. I hope you're having a good weekend and your week ahead is also productive.

Thanks! ...to you as well.

Hey @imawreader, how is it going? Smile happy to see you around here this weekend. Hope you having a great time.
I wasted time a lot before and many questions like " why didn't I learn this/that -do this/that when I was 25? Why I did not know thi/that before? 🤩 Time ..gone and never comes back I don't keep letting myself down or despress by looking back the past or mistakes I did or time that I wasted. 2020 the pandemic happened- I lost my direction & my energy, I earned nothing last year but at least I leaned about myself, know what I want and value things I have and people I love...!!!
Well, I don't know what I'm trying to say ..I meant We have to move on and be positive. I find myself fresher and happier by immersing into nature, doing outdoor activities and Satisfying what I have🤩 Just sharing I hope you had a wonderful weekend :))

Maybe one thing that triggered my depression also was my expectation that I can accomplish my goal (in a specific span of months) and not fail because I believed in my capabilities that I could do it. I was not prepared enough to realize the other story that may come my way, so I was overwhelmed and have succumbed to it. I didn't know it would be so hard to feel that you're okay but really not.

And I'm so grateful that I get to hear people like you speaking encouragement for a person like me. Thank you!

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.