Name change weekend - Weekend Engagement 127

Emma Roses.png

How can I start this journey of self-discovery?

I have always loved the name Emma, besides, turns out is the name of my favorite bisexual character on one of my favorite TV show. I really don’t like my name, and believe me when I say that I would change it if the opportunity comes out. By the way, my real name is Rosangel. According to my mother, she named me after her mother (Rosa) but she modified the name with the word Angel. So, I’ve always been thinking on changing my name because I find it inaccurate with my own personality.

For my last name, I would change it to Roses, though I like my real last name: Velásquez. But as I would erase my grandma’s name; Rosa from my first name, I would honor putting it plural on my last name. It will sound crazy, because many of you would say: why don’t you use June as your name? Well, June is like my writer’s pseudonym. That’s the name I use for my texts and books. By the way, I finished my second book, so… Hooray!

So, yup. I would definitely change Rosangel Velásquez to Emma Roses. I've always thought that parents shouldn’t choose their babies name. What if they don’t like it. I surely don’t like mine, and my mom knows it. And don’t get me to start with my middle name Cristina, also named after my dad’s mom. And to make it more interesting, the woman who was my father’s mistress is also named Cristina. What an amazing coincidence! Don’t you think?

Happy Weekend

Sort:  

That's such a coincidence. How difficult is the legal process to change your name in your country? where I am from, it's pretty doable and there were even believes that if someone has a too long names, it should be shortened. There were also some interesting myths too. Emma Roses is a beautiful name, I personally like any name that starts with Em and actually my name could be that way too, Em and it's something I use more often because my actual name is difficult to pronounce and often sparked curiosity.

Actually, I haven't investigated that. But I heard that it's very difficult to do it. However, the people who manage law in my country are very manageable and with lots of money we can make it happen. I'm grateful that I could choose two of my nieces' name; one named Emily and the other will be named Emma <3.

Smiles
I really do understand the ordeal you're into, I do love my name because it doesn't belittle me... Infact I feel so important. I'm Precious, it's nice meeting you

If that's your name, let me tell you that it's beautiful and powerful. I like it too.
Nice to meet you too.