Somewhere Else to Dream - Weekend Engagement #154

Somewhere else to dream.

I've always wish to live somewhere else. Since I was a kid. I lived with my dad till I was five and then moved to my mom's city.

We went to lived at my grandma's to find a place for our own. However, the place I live right now it's not the best at all. It's very poor, and people around are not the one's you can trust or anything. Most of them don't study or work and some are thieves.

Right in front of my house there's this power plant, which makes this zone very dangerous because at some point some of the huge high tension wires can fall down. It has happened before.

IMG_20230315_164233.jpg

For those and more reasons, I always wanted to live somewhere else. I really love Norway. I find it very peaceful and beautiful. The landscapes there are a dream come true, the culture, the people, everything is so cool. And in some point, I would like to see the aurora borealis. That's my dream. I would love to have a little house, teach some Spanish and learn Norwegian too. I love languages.

Also, I read that Norway is one of the best country for a LGBTQ member, and as I form part of that community, it would be awesome to live there free. Here in Venezuela discrimination of LGBTQ people are very radical, and many people are afraid of show who they are out of fear.

IMG_20230315_180617.jpg

Norway for me is a dream, a wish some day I could become true. Like people say: it cost nothing to dream!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I hope you can get to Norway one day!

To be fair, I find it intriguing that LGBTQ aren't that openly accepted in Venezuela. Is it the same in other countries around South America? what made them receive discrimination?

Strangely enough, Venezuela is still a very conservative country. You can watch people laugh and joke, but when it comes to lgbtq issues, their jokes are different, hurtful and demeaning. There are some countries in Latin America that support the lgbtq community, but many are conservative. Until recently I read a news about a Venezuelan athlete who decided to make public her sexual orientation and in the comments I only saw hate, disgust and a lot of anger.

For that and much more, going far away from here wouldn't be so bad.