She called it a quit.

Remain flexible and teachable so that you can make necessary adjustments in life.

Mz Liz

Life is not really about yourself alone, at some point in our life, there are needs for others to come into our lives and their coming in really mean that we need to make some necessary adjustments to accommodate such people for harmony and not necessarily for happiness. And it's when you have refused to make such needed moves to adjusting yourself for the sake of others, that you are tagged

too strict , unbendable, rigid and all have you. And surely living without others is frustrating hence the need to compromise on your personal values if you really want to enjoy the company of others both offline and online.

poster_2022-10-23-073812.png

Every weekend, @galenkp through the #weekend-engagement comes up with soul lifting and challenging topics for all . The topics keeps you thinking and not only thinking but helps you become a better you in all areas. You might want to be part of this weekly contest on the hive blog chain via the Weekend Experience community.

Have you ever upheld your personal values, but it turned out to your detriment?

If I was to provide a one word answer to this question then my answer would be a YES.
A yes because I have in two or more occasions allowed my personal values hinder me of something very important and hurt me after wards.
Now the big question is
should there be need to make room for flexibility?
Is been flexible a crime?
When I try to consider others I'm throwing away my personal values? All these are questions asking for answers and understanding that no matter great your personal values are there's a need at some point to adjust and failure to adjust becomes detrimental in some case obviously not in all cases.

In the 2010 I was working with a dredging company and as a site supervisor. Being a site supervisor, I was to oversea all the day today operations of the company and at the end of the day report directly to the MD and I figured out the the workers where frequently selling diesel and keep requesting fresh supply with the excuse that it has finished or that the gas was cutting off saying it contained water they have been doing this normally before I was employed and the director had hoped that such was normal so when the staff requested for a fresh supply of diesel he won't see it as anything, he supplies them again.

poster_2022-10-22-094500.png

When I discovered the plot, I reported to the MD and that became the beginning of my trouble at the site , since it was the workers means of getting a side money and I tried to stop it they even employed street boys to have me killed and I had to ran for my life. The MD told me in personallow them some space steal most workers if they don't get side money the job won't be smooth . My employer himself asked me to bend for his job to move on since I couldn't dance to such, he terminated my appointment. Why shouldn't I turned blind eyes to the workers stealing since the owner wants it so personal values. So I lost my job.

IMG_20220907_155112_508.jpg
You can take a random pictures but you can't just live a random life.

You don't brag I can't marry you.

We had been friends for almost two years and I our parents gave us their support and asked me to proceed with the marriage rites and I was very excited and I invited her to come over lets plan for our engagement party when she came she said to me "please I want you to do something for me" I asked what that is, she said ***when my mom ask you what you do tell her you work with a marine company. I can't do that I'm a classroom teacher. I can't build my new home upon lies she stood up and left and that was the end of our two years relationship.
I really loved her but one simple lie today would call for many more lies in the future. I only lost a relationship and not my value. She didn't like my simple lifestyle she has preferred those guys who talk big.

Because of my love for her I did eat kinds of food I wasn't used to, she changed my dressing pattern for her taste but I upheld honesty and won't trade it for anything and the relationship died .

Adjust where and when possible. Keeping hold to your personal values surely comes with some detriments and when such aren't there then you have no personal values.

Sort:  

Congratulations @iykewatch12! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!