Visiting my mother-in-law

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago (edited)

image.png


image.png

My weekends start on Thursday nights and end on Saturdays; by not working for the realization of the dreams of others, one gains supposed freedom. Now I understand the superpower of @bigtom13.

At the beginning of my weekend, I suffered from a lack of stability in #hive. I infer that they were some previous updates for the expected HF24. Branching did not run. Now it will be October 14. So I decided to interrupt the daily posting routine and accompany my wife to my mother-in-law's house.

In popular culture, the relationship with mothers-in-law is demonized. Well, maybe I am lucky, the relationship with my mother-in-law is very good. So it is an excellent option for my weekend.

After seven months, I went down with my wife to the capital city of my country, located just 15 kilometers from where we reside, taking advantage of the flexibility in road controls due to the effects of the pandemic. In the past, I drove one of our three vehicles every day. Ironically, the plan was to always have one available in case one broke down. But things don't always go as planned. Today all three are inoperative due to breakdowns. So, we boarded public transport to go to my mother-in-law's house.

The 30-kilometer journey was quick as there was not much traffic. Before the current crisis, during peak hours, it lasted almost two hours. Now, the bus took 20 minutes. Why? I saw the answer in the (huge) queues of parked cars to enter the gas stations to use the subsidized gasoline quota.

Upon reaching the city of Caracas; we got off at the bus stop in another time, we would have entered the Metro to take the next bus until we got close to my mother-in-law's house. But unfortunately, the Metro is reserved for official use and services decreed by the State, so we walked hand in hand along the real street of Sabana Grande, today turned into a Boulevard that gradually loses the splendor with which it began in the middle of the last century. A feeling of nostalgia and sadness clouded by the moment.

My mother-in-law received me with affection, and her careful attention dispelled, as if by magic, the strange feeling of the sad imprint of the current situation in my country. Changing the environment is sometimes recommended, and if you accompany it with a glass of Masato (a rice drink with fermented pineapple shells). A delight that I thanked my dear mother-in-law, as well as the pleasant stay around her beautiful and dense urban garden.


image.png


image.png

The photos were taken by me with my Samsung Galaxy Grand Neo Duos Plus

image.png

Sort:  

You know? I had a good relationship with all three of my mothers-in-law. Maybe that says something about me or at least my choices.

Beautiful flowers, I'm really glad that you had a good weekend. I think I'll make Monday part of the weekend this week because I might miss part of next weeks time as my brother is coming for a visit.

Life is good for me. I hope that it is for you as well. I know that you and your country have big struggles, but I wish for you the best possible.

Thank you, my friend. I will follow your advice. Have a great week.

Hola @janaveda ,
Aunque ya pasaron varias décadas que no vivo en Caracas, la ultima vez que la visite, hará tres años, ya se percibía el abandono, el deterioro. Ahora con la poca circulación vehicular, el sentimiento de "Casas Muertas" debe ser aplastante. Lo mejor huir de el lo antes posible junto a los seres amados y celebrar la vida a pesar de todo.
En cuanto a las suegras, chistes aparte, benditas sean que hicieron nuestras compañeras, benditas sean que nuestras madres lo son (o lo fueron).
Un abrazo y hasta pronto.

Hola @felixmarranz,

Muy complacido por tus comentarios. La metáfora de las casas muertas de Miguel Otero Silva aplicada a un país entero, una desgracia. Espero pronto revivan nuestras casas.

Que tengas una excelente semana mi amigo.