Weekends only look good from a distance.

I received a call earlier this week from the person who had connected me to my last job. She said that she heard something which is giving her concerns and she would like to listen to my perspective. She also inquired to know when I can come around so we could talk about it physically. I replied and told her that I've got plans for the week and won't be available. She acknowledged this by saying that it doesn't have to be this week, it could be any week. So I said okay but I got curious, needing to know what she heard because the last time I checked, I recall that I am not guilty of anything apart from one thing which I had already apologized for on the day I finally left. No one is perfect, we have our flaws.

The chat concluded that I would go meet her in her church after the service on Sunday.

image.png
Jon Tyson

Here is what I will be doing this weekend.

I'm supposed to attend a birthday party that I was invited to on Saturday, that's tomorrow. The matron of the shelter I had stayed in for the past three months will be celebrating her 60th birthday. However, it is sad that I had to turn down the invitation, not directly though, I gave reasons. I won't be able to go because I will be engaged with other activities. I have to be in church as early as 10 am on Saturday and will be there until 6 p.m. I'm a member of my church's choir, so I must join the retreat tomorrow and after the retreat, follows the rehearsal for Sunday's ministration. We've been on a 3-day fast which will also end tomorrow. So would I tempt myself by going to a birthday party where there would be a lot of drinks, cakes, and delicacies everywhere? I resist that temptation, please.

image.png
Didi Miam

Another reason why I won't be able to go to the birthday party is that at the time the party would begin, I would already be in the middle of the choir retreat, and on Sunday, I will be going to meet the woman to find out what she heard and make sure that it is resolved if it is a misunderstanding.

What I would like to do

If I had my way, I would prefer to go shopping for my son on Saturday before going to church for the retreat and would have loved to go to the market to get some food items and home accessories and have a sumptuous meal prepared in advance and preserved for Sunday. There is this great feeling that comes with arriving home from church on a Sunday and not having to go to the kitchen to cook or do anything serious but just warm your rice in the microwave with a delicious stew that has boneless meat in it.

image.png
Hilal Kh

Maybe you would be able to relate to this if you are a typical Nigerian like me. Yes, man shall not live by bread alone but we must have it to be filled with the strength to think or do anything at all, don't you agree?

In real life, the weekend for me would be occupied with going out, moving from here to there, resolving a misunderstanding or not, and spending a lot on public transportation. You don't know how frustrating this can be.

Sort:  

And transportation in Lagos is killing, that's why I stay home, expect I have a very important thing or place to go.😃

Exactly, no unnecessary movement.

Abi na, 😀

Congratulations @jessicaossom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 32000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

One does NOT have to be Nigerian to relate to this @jessicaossom hahahaha!!!

Really!!😀😂😂🤣
I would say I'm surprised to know that but it's good to know that others can relate to this😄😄

Hahahahahahahahaha!!!😂