You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 70: Cherished & valued thing

"Turquoise frog carved out of a hunk of Sleeping Beauty Turquoise" that is awesome, I too collect frogs nothing so cute and ornate it looks of Japanese origin.

My dads kitchen knife I have is so worn down on the blade, he used it daily in the kitchen, very little left I have a handle with strange blade...

Oh these treasures we keep wrapped up in memories of love over the ages, nice collection @bigtom13, rules are there to be broken.

Sort:  

My mom also had a steel knife like you describe. I KNOW it started the same shape as the one here, but it was a boning knife at the end...

Thanks Joan!

Old man had a thing about knives being sharp, out came the stone.... after time the blade disappeared, it was still sharp just never held the shape 😄

We had a 'sharpening wheel' when I was a kid. You pedaled it and sharpened the knife right in front of where you sat. There was a soup can with a nail hole in the bottom so water could dribble on the stone.

We only used it when we butchered, but you can bet the knives were sharp and like yours, some just disappeared. Those old dutchmen didn't buy good knives, they MADE them good.

My Dad had a stone in the kitchen, my younger son still has a set of stones to do my knives when they get blunt, appears he inherited my Dads fetish for sharp blades, he too is chef in his home.

Old blades were made to last, handles never came loose or wobbly either... Made them good, that is without a doubt.