Train Journeys

Nostalgia History Of Bygone Era

Perhaps not a monument required to remind me of many hours spent on train journeys, my selection is train tickets used that I have held onto as posterity to what is now an era almost lost.

Train Tickets.jpg

For as long as I can remember trains have been a massive part of our lives, growing up to get into the city of Johannesburg to reach medical facilities, before smaller practicing doctors or dentists arrived along the West Rand.

Caught trains on all our holidays to Durban, East London, Port Elizabeth or Cape Town where one traveled on sleeper trains. Longest most memorable being 1964 Train Journey

Later to attend final school being a tad too far to cycle, this followed onto monthly ticket to travel to and from work in Johannesburg, later Durban as reflected in the photograph.

Train travel now history bridged the gap, affording many to explored our country especially those who never owned a car, most the people we knew and grew up with.

IMG_1195.JPG

Train travel changed the world as we knew it, introduced in United Kingdom life of rural folk altered drastically, many moved into the cities seeking opportunities working in new technology. Then spilled out into the world making change in the lives of so many!

Products moved on rail, eventually people moved as well, yes the era of steam engines that started way back when is now often referred to being bigger than the advent of world wide web technology we have today.

IMG_9469.JPG

History brings hope, direction, change all positive, and on that note I remain hopeful that bridges will repair soon, start building a better future in this beautiful peoples and land of ours.

SA_Hive_LineBreak.png

Thought for Today: "Do something at its right time, and peace will accompany it." - African Proverb

Thanks to @galenkp hosting Weekend Engagement No. 118 Weekend History with Weekend Topics!

QuriteS.png

QuratorLogo.png

Combination_PapillonCharity.png How To

SiBlo_Logo_1.png

joan.gif

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1569005176144420864 twitter metadata:dHVubmVrfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL3R1bm5lay9zdGF0dXMvMTU2OTAwNTE3NjE0NDQyMDg2NHw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joanstewart, @joetunex ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow, you've treasured those tickets this long since 1978 😃 would be nice to make an NFT out of them for sale lol. That's me monetizing everything!

I have some smaller ones as well, why I held on to them.... who knows!

!BEER - Cheers to hopefully a great new week.

HODL them, we never know!
A great week to you as well thanks.

Am keeping them still in original leather monthly ticket holder one would purchase for ease of daily use. Nice walk down through history especially as you can relate to the stations and pricing.

Lol yes seeing Unified makes me smile lol but back then though I wasn't in South Africa yet I wasn't even born in 70s 🤣

Never in my wildest dreams did I think a people would toss aside inheritance as has been witnessed in South Africa. Nonetheless now history, catch taxi at your peril or train commute when they run....

My sons both born early 80's in Durban, no real memories of Johannesburg except when visiting family.

catch a taxi at your peril or train commute when they run....

Lol true, especially train, it is the last option I will have to opt for very unsafe. Gautrain is still better but I am yet to use it. I might be using it one of these days.


Hey @joetunex, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Would be nice to learn those NFT making skills

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Have not looked into NFTs perhaps someday soon, learn something new.

Everything is beautiful in its time :)

Change happens all the time, let us hope for better!

!LUV have a wonderful weekend and thanks for visiting.

Circumstances change every minute, so many changes happen in life that we don't even notice, Have a nice day :)

Recent change is very noticeable where we live, hopefully look back at history might produce better ways in moving forward.

I used to keep train tickets too. Pity I no longer have them - would be fun to compare them :)

Rail systems kept nations on the move at an affordable rate, old ticket system with inspectors on trains or stations employed so many more being able to earn a living, all has changed!

I'm always fascinated by trains!
I remember a train ride from New York City to Alexandria, Virginia. I don't know why that particular train ride is stuck in my memory! I was 8 years old then.m
How time flies!
!LADY 😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @joanstewart and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (30/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Link within the post takes a look at long trip at around age of 8, I still think back to that particular holiday being one of the highlights in my lifetime.

!LUV Train travel and history surrounding life from steamers to more modern trains.

Trains have always been a fascination for me although I don't remember our family travelling by train. I guess the metro in the UK is where I got used to travelling by rail - but nothing like the "train travel" I have heard my mother speak of.

Some privately owned trains still run, very much out priced for majority, nothing like early years when trains were convenient running regularly.

Be sure to ask mom about the fun we had on trains, I tried in a previous post with link inside the content where spending long period on a train through southern Africa was quite entertaining to say the least.

!LUV to the family and stay well!

Pleasant memories of former travel. I hear trains are becoming popular again with all the airline delays.

Older trains where you could open a window or have a platform at the back of a coach to enjoy the fresh air still my number one. Air-conditioned trains I find restricting not able to enjoy full adventure.

When I was a child I loved travelling with trains, especially to have sleep on trian and to have nice food. That was already begining of adventure. But I have never kept the tickets, it is impressive that you still have the old tickets.

Train was our start of all adventures down to the coast, evening meal was normally taken in the dining car an absolute highlight and most probably the only time we ate out as a family in a 'restaurant' when young.

I kept some strange items over the years for reminders, just as well with our train system almost null and void.

If only they can sort out the SA train systems again. It used to be so easy to get around! !PIZZA

That is what happens when greed takes over and fleets of taxi owners pop up, now the taxi wars on routes. Trains have been totally dismantled from good rolling stock to literally nothing.

Its a bit more complex than that. Everyone points out the greed issue though, which is wrong and i don't agree with. But things were not perfect before the "greedy" people took over. The old regime too was greedy, and on the select privileged benefited from it. The majority of the country was left to the dogs, and didn't benefit much either. Wealth and privilege were shared with a select fair. We are a long way from perfect, but if we keep blaming and continue to fight with each other and be greedy over our privileges we will never get anywhere. Me, I'd rather take equal opportunity and freedom over a working train system and Bantu education!

Totally agree with you there, not my NAT party nor my ANC, never lived under a system that has been anywhere close to offering equal opportunity, I don't believe there is such a thing as freedom.

Still no excuse throwing away assets that worked efficiently, destructive nature is totally unacceptable, take a look at the burning whenever dissatisfaction raises it's head.

again I'm not defending behaviour. But also, it's a small minority of people doing this.

I don't believe there is such a thing as freedom

Then i guess you have never been oppressed. Freedom comes in different forms and sizes.

Lived here all my life, avoid politics, religion as most do not understand another persons plight unless they have lived it.

Freedom means many things to different people, speak to elders most freedom won now slowly eroded away, speak to younger generation who find freedom in acquisition of information.

“For to be free is not merely to cast off one's chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.” - Nelson Mandela

Idealistic yes. Every government is broken and has its own issues. We have loads to improve on, but I still think we have it better than most countries.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@mimismartypants(2/5) tipped @joanstewart (x2)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

you r very right I couldn't said it better than this (History brings hope, direction, change all positive, and on that note I remain hopeful that bridges will repair soon, start building a better future in this beautiful peoples and land of ours.) very well said now if only people will listen .

Majority of people have similar needs, asking only a fair deal in life.

We come with nothing, go the same way with nothing, living should not be made so complicated by so few toward so many.

I really enjoyed the post!!

Thanks for visiting and appreciate comment.

!LUV