You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 25: Your phone photo

I'm sorry that you do not have any of these large animals to hunt in Venezuela, it could dramatically improve the quality of life but then their could be issues of overhunting and local herd extinction, the balance is easy to upset.

We have a lot of game here because most of the land is still wild and there is a lot of land! Picture this, look at a map of Canada, most of the people live in cities near the US border, the rest is pretty much just forest and plains or tundra/permafrost if you go way north. Here some see elk as a nuisance because they cause a lot of damage to crops and stuff and are always out into the road especially in the town of Jasper. You can come out of your hotel or front door and their can be one or several sitting right there on the front lawn.

Sort:  

Around 40 years ago I was fishing the St. Joe river in Idaho. I had left Wallace after a stop at a favorite bar and headed over Moon Pass to get to Avery. At the top of the pass it got drunk and dark and tired so I parked at a wide spot and jumped into my trailer to wait for the light to return.

I woke up to somebody shaking hell out of my trailer and headed out the door with pistol in hand. I came face to face with a yearling elk scraping the velvet off his antlers on the nice sharp edge of my trailer. I'm not sure who was more surprised.