You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 25: Your phone photo

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

Here too, one of our local supermarket started to carry it at an ok-ish price as well. Never had beefalo tho, I image the fat content must be a little higher. We have the bison herds at Elk Island, Wood Buffalo & Banff National Park all under protection and a few private ranches around the province for consumption.

Don't worry, we wont make you outrun any bison tonight as our escape route ;)

Sort:  

Ahahahahaha. You remembered! I'm the bait.

We have a fairly large herd on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon and a smaller herd up near Flagstaff. I actually applied for a position with the office (NFS) that oversees the Flagstaff herd. Turns out I didn't have near enough biology in my background, though I had plenty of (cattle) herd experience.

awwe, that's unfortunate, it would have been a good opportunity to learn more. Have you checked near-by farms maybe they need a hand, it's not the same but you would still get to learn...might also help you for the position you want.

Of course I remembered! I enjoy the chats into degeneracy we all have on hive!

I have a meme-it contest going, you should come join the fun.

No Buffalo (Bison) in South AZ. Too warm. That job was sort of a flyer, I had the practical experience and didn't get it. I'm now near 70, I don't think I'd really like to be up close and personal with a herd every day now...

For sure, I imagine they can be stubborn and hard to handle from time to time. Even at my age I would have mixed emotions about it! At least you have the joys of perpetual summer. There are some unique terrains down that way as well.

I absolutely fell in love with the area. I can't even fully explain why. But even when it is 48C I love it here.

I wouldn't call what we have right now perpetual summer, but I realize that you might. Should get a low of 9C and a high of 22C. Pleasant but not summery :)

That sounds like a pretty comfortable summery day from up here, we don't like it much hotter than that in Alberta.

4o51nc.jpg

sometimes you just know when you are home, there is no knowing why, it just feels right. My Aunt and Uncle generally go for motor bike rides down that way in the winter here and there...maybe not this year...

I've talked to lots of Canadian riders out on the road, maybe even them.

We of course don't have any Canadians here in Yuma this winter but a 'normal' winter sees Alberta's license plate be the second most popular here. The wild rose Provence.