You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: G-dog grows

There is something very enjoyable and satisfying about gardening and growing your own food. I really like that irrigation set up you go there, and the raised and covered beds. That's pretty cool. I can't tell by the photos how high the lids go but I assume that you have to choose low growing vegetables to plant in there? Like tomatoes would grow to large to fit, correct?

Sort:  

They're good things for sure. There's good height and I plan to use it. I've bought a variety of tomato's that don't grow too tall so I'll use a method to give them the ability to grow upwards, wire mesh or a trellis, but they will not exceed the height of the mesh lid. (Aztec tomatoes).

I see. Interesting. I've never heard of Aztec tomatoes but there are so many varieties of tomatoes that it's not surprising really. The varieties I've grown in the past grew like 6 to 8 feet, but I'm guessing that the Aztec variety grows more like a bush then.

Haha, yeah six-eight feet of tomato plants would go so well in my pods for sure. These ones are designed to be far more compact apparently, suited to garden beds like this, planters and all. I hope they got it right or I'll need a ladder! I also hope they taste better than the tasteless rubbish at the supermarket. 🙄 🍅

Yeah. the ones at the super market are typically picked early, while green or just turning red, and then allowed to redden on the transport truck. Even "vine ripened" tomatoes are a trick, because all they've done is cut a piece of vine from the plant and left it attached to the tomatoes that were picked early. But some vegetables (like tomatoes) don't actually ripen after they are picked. They turn color and sometimes get sweeter but they don't actually ripen. This is why tomatoes taste like shit usually when you buy them - they are red, but they aren't ripened. A lot of people who grow them also pick them early when they are just starting to redden because they are worried about birds and bugs eating them. I get it, but I also cringe just a little bit because they won't taste like a true tomato. If the tomato is going to be picked early and taste like shit anyway, you may as well just save the trouble and buy from the supermarket hahahaha. Anyway, good luck!

cut a piece of vine from the plant and left it attached to the tomatoes that were picked early

Yeah, seems society is intent upon cheating itself out of anything that's good and wholesome. Typical.

I'll be letting mine ripen on the plant. That's the cool thing about those shade cloth lids.