G-dog grows

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Copy of Change.png

True enjoyment comes from activity of the mind and exercise of the body; the two are ever united.

Wilhelm von Humboldt


Over the last few weeks I've embarked on a new gardening journey; vegetable gardening.

I say new but in truth I've done it before, just not as an adult and completely autonomously. I'm not without some knowledge of gardening in general, no expert sure, but I know a thing or two however vegetable-gardening is somewhat foreign territory to me; I'm at stage two of competence - Consciously incompetant.

Enjoyment

Taking pleasure in the things around me, and that I'm exposed to, is an activity I work hard to foster and is one of the factors that underpinned my decision, plan and actions around vegetable gardening.

It's the enjoyment I seek, not so much the produce, although one is intrinsically linked to the other in truth. Throw in the journey and I feel it's a legit path to travel. You can look at the pictures in my last three posts on the process by following the links here part one, part two and part three if you can be bothered.

Over the last few days I've managed to get my vegetable selections planted out and I'm happy to report they're all going well. The images in this post were taken just after planting so they look a little limp after having been torn from their comfortable potted resting places and transplanted into my garden beds. They all handled it pretty well though, no complaining...Well, there was a few complaints from the strawberry plants but they're known to be problematic so I ignored it; they're happy enough now though.

20210831_161942-COLLAGE.jpg

Getting wet

The raised garden beds I have, called VegePods, have an irrigation system included and that was the last element I needed to get working before I planted out.

It wasn't a complicated task. I just wanted to plumb them both in together to the one water inlet so I butchered some garden hose and used a few hose connectors to run them in-line and then to the tap - A single three-quarter turn of the tap and...Perfect spray sprinkles down like watery goodness from the heavens. Angel tears.

I buried the hose that links the two VegePods, as tripping over a hose and cracking my noggin on something could destroy what little sense I have left at my disposal, and all in all I think it came out pretty well. I could have done the irrigation set up differently, using black irrigation pipe and burying the entire thing but I decided to use what I had to hand just to save cost.

20210831_165138-COLLAGE.jpg

20210831_165330.jpg

It's been a few days since the plants went in and they all look really healthy and have begun to gain height. These pods are located to the side of my house and I think the position is totally perfect. I may need to provide some additional shade on the hottest of days, we get to 47 degrees Celsius here, but I'm confident I got the placement right.

I'll admit to going out there and looking at them more than I should but will not admit to talking to them, telling bedtime stories and playing music to them to create a beautiful environment for them to grow into...Ah screw it, yes I will!

They love it too! Although...

...Those strawberry plants have incited some trouble and almost caused a riot when I got the music selection wrong. I saved the day with this legit song though - I love my little plants so figured a legit rock-ballad would be just the thing for them. It seemed to work.

P7260019-COLLAGE.jpg

Here's that trouble-making strawberry plant. I showed it what's going to happen to it and said eventually I'll add vanilla ice cream and eat it; an attempt to scare it into submission - I'm not sure it worked...But I'll add the ice cream at some stage and eat it nonetheless.

G-dog grows

It would be easy to see my vegetable gardening in a simple way; the production of food for consumption; it's that of course but it's so much more than just growing something.

The basic act of working with my hands, bending my back to a task, brings a deep contentment and connection with the places I've been - I mean from caveman through every human-evolution from day dot to the man I am today. The process of planting, tending and harvesting is something our kind have been doing for a long time and I am completely enjoying the connection with the planet through my garden. It feels right.

This deep-seated emotion, combined with having to think things through and the physical activity, has brought me so much satisfaction in the last few weeks and I believe will do so moving forward...Although at some stage I'll consume my vegetable-friends which won't go so well for them, but I think they'll not mind too much....It's the circle of life.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

All images are mine

Sort:  

The plants are looking good :) nice work with the irrigation :D

Thanks Ry, I'm pretty pleased so far!

Those are some fancy looking planters! I love the shade covers, so versatile.

Completely off topic here, but in your new profile pic it looks like you have a pointy beard. I think it's the size of the pic and the way your collar sits, but looking devilish there! 😉😆

They're pretty legit to be honest. Costly, but have given me the chance to get some plants in and that's what counts.

Yup it's pointy. Been cultivating it for a while. Might have to take it down a bit for job interviews but I hope not - Depends where I go.

#devlishphase

I think it's great that you are planting fruit and vegetables - and I so believe in talking to plants and playing music for them. Unfortunately, time doesn't allow me to grow my own fruit and veg but hopefully one day I will settle and at least have a base. The way the future is going we are all going to have to grow our own fruit and vegetables. Have a look at @samstonehill - he is preparing well for the future.

I'm a man who likes self-reliance and build skills to that end; I like to be prepared. So, this is another element to it and it's also fun, enjoyable and frustrating as those little things aren't growing fast enough.

Patience G-dog, patience. 🤪

Thanks for your comment, as always, greatly appreciated. I know how precious your time is Eden.

🙌...that or some weed...G-Dog is equipped like a Pro 😂

There is something very enjoyable and satisfying about gardening and growing your own food. I really like that irrigation set up you go there, and the raised and covered beds. That's pretty cool. I can't tell by the photos how high the lids go but I assume that you have to choose low growing vegetables to plant in there? Like tomatoes would grow to large to fit, correct?

They're good things for sure. There's good height and I plan to use it. I've bought a variety of tomato's that don't grow too tall so I'll use a method to give them the ability to grow upwards, wire mesh or a trellis, but they will not exceed the height of the mesh lid. (Aztec tomatoes).

I see. Interesting. I've never heard of Aztec tomatoes but there are so many varieties of tomatoes that it's not surprising really. The varieties I've grown in the past grew like 6 to 8 feet, but I'm guessing that the Aztec variety grows more like a bush then.

Haha, yeah six-eight feet of tomato plants would go so well in my pods for sure. These ones are designed to be far more compact apparently, suited to garden beds like this, planters and all. I hope they got it right or I'll need a ladder! I also hope they taste better than the tasteless rubbish at the supermarket. 🙄 🍅

Yeah. the ones at the super market are typically picked early, while green or just turning red, and then allowed to redden on the transport truck. Even "vine ripened" tomatoes are a trick, because all they've done is cut a piece of vine from the plant and left it attached to the tomatoes that were picked early. But some vegetables (like tomatoes) don't actually ripen after they are picked. They turn color and sometimes get sweeter but they don't actually ripen. This is why tomatoes taste like shit usually when you buy them - they are red, but they aren't ripened. A lot of people who grow them also pick them early when they are just starting to redden because they are worried about birds and bugs eating them. I get it, but I also cringe just a little bit because they won't taste like a true tomato. If the tomato is going to be picked early and taste like shit anyway, you may as well just save the trouble and buy from the supermarket hahahaha. Anyway, good luck!

cut a piece of vine from the plant and left it attached to the tomatoes that were picked early

Yeah, seems society is intent upon cheating itself out of anything that's good and wholesome. Typical.

I'll be letting mine ripen on the plant. That's the cool thing about those shade cloth lids.

Ok, when you said you were new to this, and the. I scrolled into the pics and I was like woah!!!
You are really going all in, and you have green fingers!!
Look at those babies, wow 😊

We have a tiny balcony garden and I too am new to this gardening thing (that’s watering the plants when The Hubs is away 😅)

I've put a bit of effort into it for sure; applying effort is something I prefer when I do things that mean something to me.

The little plants are looking good though right? It's been a bit rainy here so I've not had to water much and I've got buckets below the VegePod drains to catch run-off/overflow which is nutrient-rich and I've been using that on other plants around the place so it's not wasted.

So far so good!

They are looking very good - these are the kinds of posts that make me think maybe we should have invested in landed property (but then we couldn't afford it, not in town).
So will feast my eyes here :D

I'm really pleased at how they're growing; they look healthy and have many new shoots all over. There's still a way to go but I'm happy so far.

I've been fortunate to have had the ability to purchase houses with land over my life. I was raised on a few acres as a kid so it's nice to have some space around me now.

Thanks for your comment. Greatly appreciated.

Awesome Galen!😍🙌
It's so rewarding to grow your own food. Gardening soothes the mind, and is therapeutic.
I have small potted herbs, and it gives me an inner smile each time I pick leaves for cooking 😊, so I can just imagine how pleased you are;)

I agree and am really enjoying the process so far. Like you say, therapeutic. I'm looking forward to the cooking with my veggies stage.

😁 Everything will taste better with your own 😆
I'm looking forward to see reading about the meals you cook with them.

Well, I'm not the best. Lol on the planet you know Camille, so it'll be basic fare. But it'll be so cool to harvest, prepare and eat food I've brought to life and nurtured.

I hope you and Cam are well.

Yes, we're both well and looking forward to having the engine installed over the next few days. The sun's out today, so we're charging up batteries, and enjoying it, as we thought the last days of sunshine had come and gone.
We hope all's well with you too.

You need to make the most of that sunshine in the UK right? 😆

I think you have the engine bay prepped and ready for the new donk right? It'll be good to be mobile again.

Yes we do indeed! Today everyone was in great spirits, and boaters were out in their numbers posing in their summer clothes 😄

oh yes, Cam's been busy in the engine bay :)
We can't wait to get moving again...we broke down the 1st week in June and we want to do more cruising (at normal speed) before winter.

Looking great G-dog. If those strawberries grow to the size of the 🎃 you mentioned last time it would blow our minds.

Imagine a strawberry the size of a car! One would need a lot of vanilla ice cream for that strawberry!

I can imagine the reaction of anyone seeing that huge strawberry 🍓. I would probably scream ...you would scream ...we would all scream for vanilla ice-cream. Or not 🤣

I'd start eating at one end and eat my way through like a hungry caterpillar.

Oh, look at you grow! In so many ways! They are looking good!

Yeah, they're going well so far...Not growing fast enough, but they'll get there. 😉

I cannot call up the do men swoon comment with my phone. But, yes! They do.

You obviously have not been excited enough.

They do?! Wow, ok...Seems I've been missing out all these years.

You can't miss what you've never had.

This is true. Can one covet such though?

I believe you can think you covet it, but can you truly? I think not. Not in the true sense, only the percieved sense.

The garden is going to explode and then you will wonder how you can eat them fast enough.

Should be good. .hoping to have some left over to trade for eggs and milk, olive oil or some such. I swapped some red jalapenos for a couple litres of home made olive oil. Good trade.

Well, this is quite impressive for someone who is "new" to this. Imagine how what will happen when you get advanced.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

The plants are looking great right? I can't wait to see some fruits growing!

They're looking really great!

I can't wait to see some fruits growing!

Me too!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Well guess you won't be blowing up the garden pods now😞

Operation garden pod blow up has been postponed for the moment.

The real joy for me is watching the veggies actually grow! It is then you know that you have done good.

Well, let's see if mine come good. I hope they do and I'll be pretty happy if they do.

Do you think those pods can also be used inhouse or is there water flowing down to the floor? Because I actually look for a possibility to graw some vegetables in winter time.
For your strawberries I strongly recommend taking a guitar, Learning a rocking version from Beatles Strawberry Fields Forever and play and sing all night long for them ;-)
What strawberries really like is when you put some straw around them so the fruits dont lie on the earth. But maybe not nessecairy in thise pods.

They have overflow points so probably inside might be a little difficult.

https://vegepod.com.au/

I like the guitar idea and will be heading out tomorrow to buy one for just this purpose, and thanks for the tip on the strawberries. :)

Thank you so I have to search for another solition. Looking forward for your strawberry guitar posts! When the berries become blue than you had too much blues in your chords ;-)

Sorry for my bad english

Lol...I like that blue comment! Very clever.

Your English is fine mate, no worries.

I cannot always say things the way id want to and I dont wanna give up control to a translation machine.

Thanks again and have a nice week end

It's all good, most will make allowances for it. I'm just glad to see you attempting English in response to my post - Some don't bother and write in their own, which I can't read.

Keep it up. Doing well.

Your vegetable garden like this is a bit modern

Yeah, it's a good set up that allows me to have a vegetable garden without digging up my yard. Thanks for your comment.

Sorry G-Veggy Boss Man.!!

I swiped left on that shuffle playlist of yours...


Got this one to play. All legit, same artist so my fragile psychy is intact... Lmao

First on my list...

A garden and some fruit trees. If and when I get off the highway.

Our neighbor does the boxx gardening. I will be having some fruity/veggy conversations if and when the parking of the Prime ever takes place.

Love me some green growth.

No not this kind...
untitled.gif

Great track, but then I say that about almost every Van Halen track. Poundcake is awesome, From Afar, Humans Being, Dreams, Hot For Teacher, Panama, Cabo Wabo...I can keep going, Josephina, Jump, Right Now...😊

You'll let the air down on that Prime mover for a final time, I know it. Then you'll be able to get gardening and enjoy the break you deserve.

Oh... My bad.

I meant Dirks.!!

Don't mind me a bit of DB.

Dang!!! Hell yeah G-dog grows!!!
Awsome man, just awsome! <3

You've gotta teach me about the stuff when I get out of the hole I'm currently in... ;)

My beastly brother of massive proportions! How's things mate?

You still serving? Get the hell out bro, bad news on the horizon I think. Best you're not there.

That made me laugh for real man! :D
I'm good man thank you for asking.
Hopefully I'll get out in a few months brother... :) Then I can be more active in the space and who knows maybe I'll get into gardening and stuff a little bit too.

I hope you, your wife, and your brother @tarazkp are safe and in good health. Much Love! <3

You've been missed big fella. Hit me up when you're out mate, I'll be here.

All good man, couldn't be better, although my brother had a stroke. He's ok, just working through the process to recovery. Drop him a line if you get the time.

Damn man I didn't know!
Thank god he's ok.
I sure will...
Be safe bud. <3

All good bruz, he's tough.

So good to hear from you. Hopefully things are well for you.

Damn sure he is! <3

Fingers crossed, things aren't bad... Can't complain.
Thank you brother. :)

Hehehe nicely done!
This year was the first year that I've been without death, death and more death lol

So much death over the years that I actually named myself the Grim Reaper of the Garden. 🤣

But this year....THIS YEAR!!! I've actually gotten a harvest!!!!

I just took pics this afternoon of my happy little space..and this summer I've been doing little "Lessons from the Garden"videos about all the mistakes I've made (and a few things I got right) and learned along they way 😍🥕🥦🍅

My strawberries!!!! Oh my gosh, what the heck is wrong with them! I had no idea they were this hard to get growing until you just said so in your post!!! Lololol

Mine has just been so damn stubborn!!!!

I really love those tables you have! I had an earth box for a bit...and things just grew wonderfully! But when we moved I don't know what happened to it!

Now I have some pots that water from the bottom and they seems to have helped a lot (well for my black thumb hahahaha)

Congratulations on your progress!! I know how hard it is hehehe

P.s. Four more days for you!!!! Woooot!!!

I'm hoping I don't join you in being the Grim Garden Reaper of Australia! It may happen though I guess and if it does I'll learn and start again I suppose. It's all about the journey and enjoyment I get from it.

Well done on getting a harvest this year! It seems your failures learning experiences have paid off. The strawberries will get with the program eventually, have faith.

Four days...Yeah, three working days. Not long now.

I have to find this gif that represents me..... It's hilarious.... Watch the whole thing...the kick at the end makes.me giggle each time hahahhahaa brb!

https://giphy.com/gifs/death-gardening-green-thumb-l3vRiyQT1lPzaNsQ0

Hahahhahahahaha!!!!! Isn't that hilarious 😂

Oh weird...it's just coming up as a link.... hopefully you can see it
..watch til the kick! Lol

Haha, kicks watering can as if it's the cans fault.

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 that's so me!!!!

Poor Death!
So defeated hahhahaa

BUT NO MORE!!! I AM THE LIFEBRINGER NOW!

👩‍🌾

so - i planted these tomatoes this year - called Sun Sugar.

I MACKED on them 3 days ago.

honestly - tomatoes are not tomatoes if they are from the store.

These things were like candy!!!!!! the only thing that stopped me from eating more is I didn't plant enough apparently.

guess who is planting a shit ton of them next year.

i am counting down the days til next summer hahahahaha

SPEAKING OF COUNTDOWN

3!!!!

UNLESS IT IS 2 BY THE TIME YOU READ IT!

WOW!
How have I not seen this series so far?
I've been thinking something similar for raised beds. but this year, we were planning on moving, so, instead, I did Grow Bags, in case I had to literally move the garden to another town. For me, early spring, it was all about watering and planning that cycle.

I love the concept of the drip irrigation system. This summer, it poured rains, 27 days in July alone, so no need to water. IN FACT, the grow bags, with their VERY porous fabric sides, helped to keep plants from drowning.

Are you in the Epic Gardening Discord?
VERY Active community there

btw, if you are curious, check out ANY one of my gardening posts. There's a link to the entire series at the bottom of each. including the beginning of seed starting indoors in winter, under grow lights, all the way thru each day's harvest.

These pods are pretty cool indeed.

The self-watering nature of them means I can leave them for a few days if I go camping or something and not have to worry, or just set a tap timer. I also like the reservoirs at the bottom. They have an overflow which I collect and decant into a drum with a tap. I then use that excess fluid with all the nutrients in it to water other plants.

I've heard of the grow bags and heard that they're pretty good. I have some posts here and there to augment the beds but the bags might be a good option.

With the Discord thing, I avoid Discord servers preferring to drop everything here or on an one-on-one basis on Discord.

I love the Grow Bags for the fabric part. They allow more air in, and that means, when something like Tomato grow, the roots don't get all ROOT BOUND in a clay post. As the root grows outward, the very tip dies off, forcing the root to grow offshoots inside the planter, not at the edge. Stronger root system, more nutrients taken up.

I'm going to do some investigation for sure.

They're Australian strawberries...A bit thick in the head so it takes a little effort to get through to them.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Not going to read poetry to your plants? I'm so disappointed.

I'm going to tell them some ribald stories instead.

Nope, never had wild ones.

Mine will be sweet too...Once I've added vanilla ice cream.