Weekend Bliss : It's Time For Hobby and Relaxing

macproprety.png

It's Cooking Time!

One aspect that I am slowly learning this year is creating more boundaries between my personal life and my professional one. As I mentioned in a few of my posts, it can be challenging to distinguish these especially if you are self-employed. In 2023, I want to make sure that I have a good distinction between hobby and work life as I realize the importance of winding down properly and not mixing them two. Last Saturday was the perfect start when I made sure that I got the rest that I needed including doing my hobby. The thing is, in the past, I always mixed the two and I realized how inefficient my life was and my hobby skills were not progressing at all. I also tend to mix between the two that makes it harder for me to focus on work as I don’t have allocated time for my hobby. Now, Saturday and Sunday have become the days when I dedicate it to spending on my hobby that includes a variety of activities including cooking. That is why, last Saturday and Sunday I dedicated my time to improve and explore new cuisine. Perhaps next week I’ll do another activity but now, it’s cooking and yummy time!

Dakbal and Jumeok-bap

DSC01831.JPG

The dish that I tried this time is from Korea. I love Korean food and have made a few of them. But now, there’s a new dish that I will be trying called Dakbal and Jumeok-bap. If you're curious, Dakbal is basically spiced chicken feet and often served spicy, meanwhile jumeok-bap is rice in round shape that you can either give fillings or a simple sesame seeds with seaweed. Dakbal may seem yucky but it’s actually pretty yummy when you know how to cook it. In some countries, they are either served grilled and even in Indonesia it is served grilled and spicy except that in Korean cuisine they use ingredients called gochujang and doenjang a lot. I can also confidently say that both are one of the keys to making Korean cuisine.

How to make Dakbal (Spicy Chicken Feet)

20230121_164457.jpg

To make Dakbal, you have to make sure that the nails of the chicken feet are clipped. I think in the Philippines, they are called adidas? But correct me if I am wrong. Then, the boiling part is also important.

20230121_165029.jpg

For me, I like to boil it with ginger and a generous amount of salt for 20-30 minutes. Another important part would be deboning the chicken feet but it’s optional. I actually see in some K-dramas they don’t debone the chicken feet. In fact, when I tried deboning the chicken feet, I ended up losing more meat than when I don’t try to do that.

20230121_165006.jpg

20230121_162030.jpg

When it comes to seasoning, there are many ways to do that and generally Dakbal is a spicy one but this time, I am making it less spicy than its original recipe.

In my seasoning, I only add bigger chili and chili powder instead of adding more chili into the mixture that I will make a spicy paste. I also add soy sauce and sweet soy sauce into the mixture to add more sweetness to it. Do not forget to add gochujang to the spicy paste. To make it into a wholesome dish, you have to mix chicken feet and the spicy paste till it boils. After that, serve it with a sprinkle of sesame seeds and chopped spring onion.

20230121_180419.jpg

20230121_174339.jpg

20230121_175023.jpg

20230121_180025.jpg

While waiting for Dakbal to cool down, you can make Jumeok-bap. This time, I am making a simple jumeok-bap with only rice, mayo, sesame seed oil, seaweed and a bit of soy sauce. Adding salt would be optional but since I generally try to lessen my salt intake, I didn’t add any salt into the mixture. Once you’re done mixing them up, you can make round balls with the mixture and serve it alongside Dakbal and best, a lager beer. I don’t really recommend stouts as this kind of food is best paired with either lager or maybe pilsner. Since I didn't have lager or pilsner at the time, I only used stout and though it wasn’t perfect, it sort of did to me.

I honestly think that Dakbal has many versions throughout Asia but I certainly prefer the Korean style as they have more complex and healthy spices. I don’t have to add MSG and all I added even include ginger which across Asia is known to be used in folk medicines. At the same time, the Indonesian version I know uses too much spiciness that sometimes it’s not edible to me. I can’t eat spicy food and there’s certainly a different level of spiciness as usually in Indonesia, especially in my region, they tend to like extra spicy food. That’s why where I am from, there’s something called Ceker Setan, Ceker gila which is basically just extra spicy chicken feet which has a lot of heat and heaps of any-kind-of chili you name it.

While cooking, I realized that hobby is fun as long as it’s not work. I find that any hobby of mine that turned into some form of job that generates some money isn’t going to be fun anymore. I began to resent what I do and don't find any enjoyment in it anymore. Perhaps, those that make me money, can’t be called a hobby anymore. It’s now work and it’s not a hobby. I swear, after knowing how fun taking a break on Friday Night to even Sunday I decided that I'd be changing my routine catering to that. We’re not meant to always work, rest is necessary for extra sanity and even boosting productivity on the weekdays.

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me below!


image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢 & 𝘤𝘰𝘧𝘧𝘦𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘯𝘰𝘪𝘴𝘴𝘦𝘶𝘳 . 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨, 𝘢 𝘳𝘦𝘧𝘭𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘰𝘧 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘸𝘢𝘯𝘥𝘦𝘳𝘭𝘶𝘴𝘵 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘳𝘴𝘵 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸𝘭𝘦𝘥𝘨𝘦. 𝘚𝘩𝘦 𝘰𝘧𝘵𝘦𝘯 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘮𝘰𝘷𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴, 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘥𝘦𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘰𝘱𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵. 𝘖𝘯𝘤𝘦 𝘪𝘯 𝘢 𝘣𝘭𝘶𝘦 𝘮𝘰𝘰𝘯, 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘤𝘢𝘯 𝘧𝘪𝘯𝘥 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨, 𝘪𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘥𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘢𝘬𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘦𝘢𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘧𝘶𝘭 𝘴𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵𝘴 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘰𝘶𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘸𝘢𝘺. 𝘚𝘩𝘦'𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘤𝘤𝘢𝘴𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘧𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘤𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘢𝘳𝘺 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘦𝘴. 𝘍𝘰𝘭𝘭𝘰𝘸 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘢𝘥𝘷𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘫𝘰𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯! 𝘋𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥 𝘵𝘰𝘰.
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @xoxois ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

👀👀👀👀 I think this has caught my attention, I want a good Dakbal, or rather some good "chicken legs", hahahahahaha. Nothing better than seeing this around here and more so because of what it made me remember from so many K-drama scenes. After all it is one of the favorite meals and they come out all the time, a they would be perfect with a bottle of Soju. 😁😁😁

Do you have soju over there? we have a few replacement of Soju here but I certainly would love a soju. You should have this on the weekend :D it's tasty and you'll experience a good food comma.

Wow, chicken feet is one of my favorite parts of a chicken.
I feel like I want to taste your dish, but I just don't know if that's too spicy. ☺️

haha it's not too spicy as I can't eat spicy food!

Wow, that's better. Hahaha

Funny thing, and maybe a weird coincidence, just two hours ago I was dreaming I was eating a chicken foot lol. It was grilled like how we usually do, and yeah we call it adidas. XD I eat that once in a while but I do miss it.

😆 It's time to eat it again! have you tried Korean version of it? I think you'd like em too but it's a bit messy compared those grilled ones.

Ahh for sure it will be! Eating it with less sauce is messy enough hahah. I just don't want it to be that spicy tho, maybe same level as yours.

I do like chicken feet and very spicy food 😋 Great combo

Indeed! you should make this when you can😁

This sounds very tasty! Now I'll just have to find somewhere to buy chicken feet

I am sure it's available somewhere! give it a try when you can.

Looks very tasty @macchiata. I love cooking chicken feet during weekends with my family too.

They're pretty fun to eat for a coma induced food. I am planning to do that again this week and tried different recipe. What would be your favorite way of cooking them?

I would love the fried one coated with crispy fry or flour and egg. And I also love the chicken feet barbecue😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Waoh, I suddenly craved for ADIDAS (local term for chicket feet in my place) hmmm, honestly I not in Korean dish hehe but the "spicy" maybe I should try that hehe. I liked it chicken feed adobo, uwu then eat with bare hands added the bone marrow gezzz,three service of rice haha.

I actually watched many tutorials on Adidas haha and they debone the chicken feet, that's where I learned how to. I'll have to try chicken feet adobo, sounds like it's gonna be a bit sticky and way even savory and sweet. Can you also grill chicken feet adobo?

I am sure those chicken feet are tasty. With that being said, you just gave me an idea to coke some tomorrow. Good evening!

😁 what kind of chicken feet? I wanna try chicken feet adobo just like @eunoia101 said.

I am also talking about chicken feet adobo (^_^)

Great that you made that decision! ✔️💯 that this year, your weekend is for you, to do what you like, and you can enjoy those two days off. Just like you, I can't eat spicy! I really like how it looks colorful. I haven't tried the chicken feet 🙈, but if there are members of my family who have eaten it and they have told me that it is very tasty, I hope at some point I will be able to eat it.

It's actually pretty good and I definitely recommend you to try it when you can 😁

Should try it out when you can!