You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Part 2: Homemade Fruit Butters

in Weekend Experiences โ€ข 4 years ago (edited)

God! That looks delicious! You have no idea of how many years I have without eating pears ๐Ÿ˜”. About the apples: that's my forever favorite fruit, and I can't eat it as much as i'd like to, so... Would you send me one of those cans? hahaha.

My mother and I usually make guava jam and pomalaca in syrup (pomalaca is also called water apple. But it is still not apple).

GUAVAS:

guayabas.jpg

POMALACAS:

pomalacas.jpg

To make the guava jam, first we chop it into medium pieces and blend it and then cook the juice over medium heat with lots of sugar. (We love sugar. That's the secret of my sweetness, hahaha)

Regarding the pomalacas in syrup, we also chop it into medium pieces and then cook it over low heat with a little water and a lot of sugar. (I do need a lot of sugar. In fact, when I was little I ate it hidden from my parents, hahaha (they scolded me enough, just in case))

Sort: ย 
ย 4 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hahah that must be why youโ€™re sweet ๐Ÿ˜›๐Ÿคฃ.

Those recipes sound great! Then again if you add lots of sugar a lot of things would taste great lol.

Apples are one of my favorite fruits from sure. The variety that is my favorite is called McIntosh. They are very crisp, meaning when you bite into them itโ€™s a really big snap and I love how they are tart. Iโ€™m not a huge fan of sweet apples. The tart ones make really good baking stuff like this so itโ€™s more reason for me!

I appreciate you stopping sharing by and sharing these lovely memories! Itโ€™s the best to do these things with our parents. My mom never really did this with us so we are trying to change that with our son. Some of the best memories I have are making food with my really old Italian aunt, itโ€™s a lot of fun being in the kitchen!

!ENGAGE 25

Hahaha! Yep, that the reason! ๐Ÿ˜

OMG! These ones should be delicious ๐Ÿ˜‹

That's fantastic, You made things with your son.

So, You know how to make lasagna?? ๐Ÿ˜

ย 4 years agoย ย 

I love guava jam!

That is all. :)

ย 4 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hehehe Me too! ๐Ÿ˜‹
Don't remember if preparing guava Jam is in the list of the things you're good at ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ™ƒ

ย 4 years agoย ย 

I'm good at everything in my life because I'm passionate about life.

That's really cool! ๐Ÿ‘
You're great! ๐Ÿ˜

ย 4 years agoย ย 

I'm completely average and have never been great...Just passionate about life.

[strokes his big mustache as he types his reply] I just loved my mom's canned goods, they were really special. But my best mother in law made 'choke cherry syrup'. They'd spend a weekend with friends picking wild choke cherries and then make the syrup. Ohhhhhh it was heavenly on a Sunday morning.

[OMG] hahaha bigmustache ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ˜‚

Jams are the best, no doubt.
๐Ÿ˜‹
It's good that mothers know how to make them hehehe I think that if I do that, I would be distracted by singing and my jam would burn (that's what my mother says) ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ™ƒ
I would also collect many fruits to make jams... ๐Ÿ‘
I hope one day to have a mother-in-law who will make me different memaladas.๐Ÿ™

My mom made jams and jellies to die for. Her raspberry and blackberry were especially good. She strained them out of a pillow case hung in our working shower on the back porch of the farmhouse. Nobody minded missing a shower for the jelly that was coming. I still have the Aluminum bucket she used to catch the jelly.

On Saturday morning mom made bread. My brother and I churned fresh butter and when that bread came out of the oven it was so good with jam!

OMG ๐Ÿ˜
This comment is like a dream.๐Ÿ˜‹
I remembered an episode of my mom's favorite comic, Heidy, in which her grandfather gave Heidy a piece of freshly baked bread with cheese (which although it was a cartoon, it still looked delicious and made me hungry)๐Ÿ˜
I want bread with jam, I'm starving. LOL๐Ÿ˜‚

I'm glad you still have the Aluminum bucket she used to catch the jelly. It's lovely...๐Ÿ’œ