My weekend experience - Cape Town Marathon

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Dear dairy

This weekend was another busy weekend but also one I've been SO looking forward to for over 4 months.

On Saturday we spent some quality family time at a little mermaid's 5th birthday party. The kids had their faces painted and got glitter tattoos and the massive jumping castle was a huge success despite of the unpredicted rain.

We arrived home late that evening and we were all exhausted but content after a whole day of fun and laughter.

Sunday morning was a big day for me. I set my alarm for 3:30 because it was finally time to run my second marathon. It was the Cape Town Marathon race day!

For the past 16 weeks I followed a training plan to the T. Spent hours on the road covering more than 600km. I was committed to train hard to run my Sub 5 hours marathon in order to qualify for the Two Oceans Ultra marathon next year - an iconic 56km marathon with the most beautiful scenery showcasing our beautiful Cape Town. The only rule to enter this popular marathon is to have completed a Sub 5-hour marathon within the past 6 months.

My race started out well! I had a good pace and felt comfortable. It seemed as if it was going to be a fantastic day with the mountain all clear and blue but then halfway, we soon realize we were in for an uncomfortable surprise as the temperature just kept rising and for once in like forever there was no wind to help cool us down. Water tables started to become so congested as everyone was desperate to cool down, and that's where my "real" marathon started.
One foot in front of the other, just get to the finish line.

It took me two days to digest my experience.
I will forever remember this marathon for all the lessons I learned.
Training is a big part to get you over the finish line, but you are also dependent on some external factors that will either make your race fantastic or make it feel like a war zone. Man, it was HOT!
Did I enjoy it?
The first part mostly...but the things I learn about myself while running, when things really get tough is my addiction and will make me come back for more. I guess I'm a sucker for punishment.

I didn't get my sub 5 as I hoped and trained hard for, but I also didn't do terrible (I think)
I learned to not give up when you know you are going to miss your goal but to finish strong because it's still better than quitting. I learned to reach out when you realize you're in trouble (thanks to my family WhatsApp group counting down the last 12km to keep me going) and I learned that I can deal with much more suffering than I thought possible. And in 6 weeks it's rematch time. Still chasing that sub 5 qualifier.

"Respect a marathon. Start like a coward and end like a hero."

Sort:  

Ag nee man - I'll say it again! Run half marathons and then stop for a nice beer! Running for more than 2 hours is just silly - hahaha!

Congratulations on not giving up, and being mentally and physically strong enough to tough it out despite the heat!

So 42km is not good enough and now you want to qualify for the 56km? You sound like one of those people who can't stop getting tattoos! Hahaha! On a serious note, I imagine the next qualifying marathons will be even more into the summer heat? How are you going to go about picking which ones to try?

I used to train at Varsity Old Boys with my good friend Bradley and got quite fast again (I was a good runner at school) but only over 10-15km... Bradley has transitioned to half and full marathons now. I'm trying to remember if he's done the 56km... when does this torture ever end?

I have another friend who's brother (the guy I taught to surf a few weeks ago) is so crazy that he did a specialized event for charity where you have to run about 7km every hour for as many hours (IN A ROW) as you can. I think he won the thing with 38 consecutive hours of about 7km each... that's where it ends! Or the "Tougher Puffer"!

Is there a point where people admit it's not actually good for you anymore? A slippery slope my friend! Retreat back to half marathons and a rewarding beer! It's fine! Hahaha!

You have some very valid questions. I asked myself aswell what I must do differetly going forward seeing that I already trained very to start with.
The next marathon starts at 5:30. That's an hour and a half earlier then the Cape Town Marathon. Then I need to tackle more hill training sessions and alsontrain later in the day to get used to the hot weather. I like the challenge that comes with these ridiculous distances. How far can I push myself. Running is a serious addiction I will admit but it is still cheaper than therapy😄

wow looks like you had a lot of fun nice job on the run😁👍

I was so happy crossing the finish line :)

Thanks! Fun was had indeed:)

Respect the athletes, I would say, even if they are not professionals and with medals, because they are always fighters and even if they have not won the battle, they carry the spirit of victory within them and are potential medalists.
Good luck with the qualifications and the next marathon!

Thanks for the well wishes. I agree, all athletes are warriors and here's.

Congratulations @marelizezeeman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you!

You're welcome @marelizezeeman
Support us back and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and may get bigger upvotes from us when we notify you.

Good

Thank you so much!

Thank you very much!

fair play to you!!! and so much fun!!

Thank you very much. Fun was had indeed:)

That time is nothing to be ashamed of!! Well done and was a wonderful read!!