To live in my very own Walden: A not-so-distant dream

Hello, weekenders! Maria here joining the weekend engagement writing initiative hosted by @galenkp for the first time.

When I saw the Week 142 prompts today, I instantly had an answer in mind. So if I'm asked to choose between living in a small shack on and idyllic beach or a cabin in the woods, I'd take the latter anytime.

My Inspirations

We all have a dream or a vision on how we'd spend the rest of our lives when we grow old and gray. Mine was to live in my very own Walden. Surrounded by trees and the sound of nature, where I could freely write, read and do as I please.

The inspiration to this dream was a combination of two. The first was when I came across a book by Henry David Thoreau. Walden (first published as Walden; or, Life in the Woods) is a series of essays about the Thoreau's experiences over the course of two years, two months, and two days in a self-built cabin near Walden Pond. Contrary to popular belief, he wasn't a hardcore hermit. He was still meeting people every now then. But it was in nature where he found life's meaning.

The second still came from a book — this time by L.M Montgomery. While Walden gave me an idea on how I want to live, Anne of Green Gables, my favorite of all time, gave me a visualization of who I want to be, or at least try to become.

My Ideal Life in the Woods

For the past six years, I have gone from an aloof introvert to an outdoorsy introvert. This change allowed me to expand my understanding of life and everything in it. Hence, if I could build a home in the woods, that would be a perfect meeting place of my two loves.

In the woods, I could be one with nature. I'd hang a hammock where I could watch the sun rise and the stars at night. The forest will be my shield from the city noise. Here, I'd live my fantasy and be like Ann-with-and-E. I would look at things from a different perspective, and name landscapes like the White Way of Delight, the Lake of Shining Waters, Lover's Lane, the Birch Path, and such. As lunatic as that may sound, I wish to live in a place where I could be free-spirited without being judged by others.

In this home in the woods, I'd bring my books and all my scraps. I would build bookshelves and a nook where I could read, write, journal and daydream. It would just be me and the love of my life. A dog and cat would be lovely companies too. Here, we'd talk about random things over a cup of coffee, or take a dip in nearby streams. We'd also install wifi because — realistically — we still need work to sustain this lifestyle. We'd fill this home with laughter and plans for the next big trip. We'd invite families and friends from time to time and have them experience the beauty of nature.

If time and money permits, this will be how I'd love to spend my life. Who knows? Maybe in the near future, right? Thanks for reading this far. I hope you enjoyed it. ☺️


Hello! I'm Maria, a hopeless romantic who travels in pages and places. I hope to share my love for words and the world with you here in HIVE.

If you like this content, don't forget to follow, upvote, and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Let's connect! 🤍

Sort:  

Congratulations @mariasalve! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The books you mentioned sound interesting :) And you've got amazing plans of what you'd do when having a home in the woods. I'd like to believe that one day, you'll be living that dream ♥️

!LADY

They're must-reads and full of insights. And thank you. Fingers crossed to fulfilling our dreams 😁

That's great, I will look into them for a read. Thank you too and all the best to you. Cheers to working towards those dreams and living life too ♥️


Are you on CREW3 yet? If not, I'm inviting you to join us for the fun in March. LeoGrowth has something in the works and there will be $10k prize pool. You DON'T need to have 1k LEO Power. It's open to everyone on Hive. Thank you and hope to see you there :)

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @mariasalve and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (9/15 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Most of us really want a simple, peaceful life with nature. How we wish to live in that place especially when we grows old.

Indeed. That would be a well deserved retirement ☺️


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

A simple yet perfect life. This is a great read ate @mariasalve. As long as you have the love of your life at your side, everything will be perfect ❤️

Thanks, @cli4d. We'll just have to hold tightly to our dreams. 😁

Naturaleza en pleno, para vivir descansar

verdaderamente 🍃

I've heard about Anne of green gables but never read it. She sound like a dreamer like me. I guess now I'll have to read it. 😁

Yes, do give it a try. Anne is such an interesting character. Imperfectly perfect. I just love how she views the world. Full of positivity. 😊

Congratulations @mariasalve! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain And you have been rewarded with the following badge

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Saaal! Huhu I so love your vision, because it matched mine lol. But would prefer on top of a hill though 😍 , feel nako naay ngun ani sa amoa baya hahah okay ra maka install ra sila kuya wifi baya haha neighborhood? Aw! 😅

Ayyy ganahan kaayo ko ani ba. Magsilanganay tang tanan para masaya. Work+hike dayon. Hahaha!

Hahaha kaayo madiii 😍

I am teaching in a remote area, and I witnessed gow simple and peaceful life could be if you choose to live in this kind of place. Nature has truly it's own power and makes humans life feel better 🥰

Ooh. That's amazing! I do hope the people in remote area also get enough support from the higher ups. It's a beautiful life they live, but a hard one at times too.

It's a very beautiful dream, I loved reading your post, it was very inspiring 😍

Glad you enjoyed reading. Thanks! ☺️

It definitely looks like heaven. Then hammock in the trees has me sold. I wish that your dreams come true soon.😊

Fingers crossed!! I hope so, too 🙏☺️

A cabin in the woods. actually it is already in the works!
https://hive.blog/hive-114308/@bigorna1/building-my-house-on-the
welcome to Hive ; )

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

I totally feel your desire to live in your very own walden as it was a dream of mine since I was a kid too :) Can't wait for you to return one day with a post saying that this dream became true!

Thank you! Here's to making all our dreams come true 🍻😁

Nature is quite a beautiful thing to enjoy😍

Okay these are pretty enticing reasons to live in the woods. How about the dangers?

Well done by the way.

Haha okay now that you mention it, I'm thinking of all the thriller movies that includes a cabin in the woods. 😱

😄 see?

Go for it Sal! Invest as early as now kay you know, Golden Era. I would like also like to have my home at the mountains but super agree ko with the wifi :D

Magsilingan daw ta tanan sa bukid. Hahahaha

beautiful natures here, Great shots

Thank you,!