WE142 : Autonomous Vehicles? I Don't Think So.

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

If you could choose to have an autonomous vehicle or one you had to drive yourself which would you choose? Explain your answer in a post of at least 300 words.

Source

Few years ago, the automotive industry witnessed the emergence of autonomous vehicles. The kind of vehicles which can operate without any human intervention/input. By some or most people, the autonomous vehicles technology/Industry has been greatly praised as a revolutionary step towards safer and more efficient transportation. But is it really?. That's not the bone of contention for this weekend engagement, so I'm going to avoid that.

As a lover of vehicles, (especially fast ones) but unlike people that find autonomous vehicles interesting. And despite the many benefits of self-driving cars, I am still a firm believer in driving my car myself.

So, for my choice to the topic above I'd rather choose to have a vehicle that I have to drive myself.

Here's why..
One key reason I prefer to drive my car myself is because I want to have a beautiful relationship with my car. I don't know about you guys but my car is my baby. I want to feel the engine's roar. I want to hear the sound of the wheels on the road. I want to experience that thrill of speeding down the highway. Seriously being in control of my car, allows me to be able to have a unique relationship with my car. Exactly what I believe a self-driving car could never provide.

Also I can't be able to hand my life over to some technology (no matter how good) it is definitely not something I am comfortable with. Maybe I can with other technologies but not with one that requires being on the road with other drivers, some who could be road rage freaks.
The truth is, even though these self-driving cars have advanced safety features and are designed to reduce the risk of accidents, I somehow still feel uneasy about relying solely on technology to make crucial decisions that could impact my life. I love being in control of my own destiny. I want to be in control of my own destiny, so when I crash, I'll take the blame.

That aside, I think that owning a car should not just be about getting from one place to another. I think or believe it should be about the experience of driving and the connection you have with your vehicle. So if I were to buy a car and never drive it myself, it would feel like a waste of money to me. I want to feel the excitement and joy that comes from being behind the wheel of my car. Stepping on the gas, hitting the clutch and changing gears.

To conclude all I've been saying so far, I believe that driving my car myself is the best option for me. I love that it allows me the opportunity to have a unique relationship with my car, puts me in control of my own safety, and provides a more fulfilling driving experience.

Self-driving cars may be the way of the future, but I will always prefer the thrill of driving my car myself.

This is an engagement in weekend experiences you can join too.

Sort:  

I had no knowledge of these cars that drive themselves 😮😲 since the most direct vehicle I've had has been my bicycle 😅

For me this would be very useful, since I never learned to drive, but for connoisseurs of this art like you, I suppose they would like the same, of course being careful when driving, Since not only your life is at stake, but also that of the people around you when you want to step on the accelerator. Blessings 🙏🏽🤗

I love bicycles too. I had one growing up. I believe everyone has their different choice/choices, but I've always loved being behind the wheel.
Thank you for reading.