You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The big

Stunning photo Galen! I feel a true sense of gratitude and happiness from just looking at it.

I think the relaxing and re-energising feeling you get from walking in nature, and walking in general, has to do not only with the act of doing it, or the surroundings itself, but it's the mindfulness that you apply.
Mindful walking allows you to focus on the movement of your legs and feet (hands, shoulders, posture in general); the sensations and sounds of your feet on the surface (earth), and this helps you to focus only on that moment indeed. No distraction!
Try doing the same with someone jabbering in your ear, or you having a senseless, irrelevant conversation in general, and evaluate how you feel at the end of it.

If you like, I'd give you an exercise to do, and I'd like you to tell me the different feelings you observe, next time you go for a nature walk.

Sort:  

If you like, I'd give you an exercise to do

Sounds like homework.

🤣 no, "mind work" 🤣

I have such a small brain so it won't take too long.

Trust me, your brain is big enough...perfect actually.😁

On a serious note; next time you go walking, pay attention to the following:

  • your breathing (every inhalation and exhalation) and the control of it. Try holding it too.
  • your steps, do you put more pressure on your toes or heels?
  • Standing, do you let your feet sink into the ground and distribute your weight evenly?

...Feel free to do a karate kick while you're at it!🤣

I'll give it a go, but if I turn into a ninja I'm blaming you.

You might! Just remember, "once a ninja, always a ninja!"
You'll "thank" me later😆

You're right you know. Who doesn't want to be a ninja!