Weekend Engagement - Funny (maybe) Interesting (maybe) I wish this was fiction (Absolutely)

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago (edited)
Authored by @Camille Forbush

_1010420_edited_orange 3.jpg

Reaching into some rocks for my camera lens cover was nothing out of the ordinary, but when I got to my desk and inserted my memory card to edit my photos... I paused at this picture.
The sneaky action brought back horrid memories of when I was 14 years old.

Oh I forgot!!! WARNING: Rated PG 16....
Please continue to read only if you DO NOT have to answer to your Mum...(the way I was compelled to, on this occasion).

Art was one of my favourite subjects in school, and my teacher always wrote the letter "A" on my projects. I attributed that to the fact that my Mum was an Art and Craft teacher at another school.
With that being said, I had designed and created a unique handmade Art Portfolio that I used to take to Art classes with pride.

Flashback 30 years ago (Synopsis)

There's an immaculate, meticulous art student with her portfolio, consisting of her own drawings, crafts and other collected pieces of things she finds appealing and intriguing. However, there's a mischievous side to that "A" art student, which leads to a distressing discovery by the student's Mum.

Being summoned to my bedroom, or me even slipping away to it, was something that happened often.
My mischievous deeds were something that my parents found exciting to some extent, however, my mother had an exaggerated imaginary take on my stubbornest, which seemingly brought much headache, heartache and sometimes overall body ache... so, it was not long before my Mum observed that my unusual willingness to go to my bedroom was suspicious.

thumbnail 3.jpeg

Beside my bed, which was stacked next to the wall, there was an indent in the wall, and my portfolio slotted into the indent perfectly.

My art portfolio was my happy thing.

It was natural for me to collapse on my bed and reach down for my portfolio. However, there was a dark secret - I had a collection of images - odd ones.

I was completely intrigued by the anatomy of the female vulva. I was only 14, from a conservative family and I attended a fairly traditional school ... don't ask me where I got those pictures, but from magazines I would cut out images of women in their most natural states.

"My artistic side" tried to make sense of the different shapes, tones, formations, etc, and I realised that "every woman" was different.
I was only 14, yet I observed that some vulvas were cute and some appeared to have been severely battered...these were just thoughts of a naive 14 year old.

I wanted answers.

Then suddenly, one day I felt:

hurt
betrayed violated
angry
devastated
annoyed

I felt empty, as if an intruder had robbed me of all my valuables.

My Mum pried into my world...

I was hurt because she found it easier to destroy my secret collection without finding out why or what the purpose of them were.
I felt betrayed violated because it was my private portfolio and and my space which she knew was dear to me.
I was angry and devastated because I'd thoroughly collected attractive and contrasting images, and
I was most annoyed because she did not face her fears (I was a tomboy and mischievous so she immediately assumed that I probably had desires for real vulvas) which was a far cry from the truth.

Am I the only one who finds the human physique (female) especially, to be like "ART". I was totally amazed at the diverse beauty of the vulva.
I like that no 2 women have the same shape and figure.

If I were a cat (a pussycat) I would have lived all 9 lives.

I've always been curious.

I feel privileged to be a woman!

Thank you for reading my funny or interesting story...I wish it wasn't true.
_3190398_BW 3.jpg

Sort:  

I think this is why I married you 😂

That’s definitely a different take! I find it unfortunate though that instead of talking to you about it she just threw it away. My mom would do things like that as well. That’s certainly a tough thing to experience!

Yeah, I was completely devastated. She left my portfolio (intact at 1st glance) only for me to scan it repeatedly, refusing to believe that my collection was gone😅

The female form is a beautiful thing so as an artistic person it makes sense that you found it fascinating. A bit disconcerting that your mum didn't discuss it with you as I think you may been able to explain it in a way she understood and even valued.

Thanks for sharing your story here, and for using the weekend community.

Have a great weekend Milly.

My Mum is a prude and I guess she thought the easy way out was for her to discard them.
She probably thought I would have an "otherworldly explanation" which she preferred to not to hear.
I am glad you can correlate the artistic appeal...
Have a great weekend too Galen :)

It's funny how people think I guess, but it takes all kinds I guess. 🙂

😂🤣🙃😊 yes! it takes all kinds...she thought I was odd! 😁

Uh, no. I don't find your obsession at all strange, in fact I had one myself at that age. Unfortunately (or more likely fortunately) I didn't have any real way to do practical research :)

What I do understand is the violation of mom getting into my space. I remember well.

Yeah, thank goodness for technology. 14 year olds are much more aware and have a better understanding nowadays.
I had no internet and the few library books there were, it would have been such a taboo to be seen with books on that subject.
I wish there was a more rounded syllabus and open sex education besides putting a rubber on a banana.
I felt completely "violated" by my Mum in my private space...(that's the word I was groping for).

It's interesting to learn something new about you through this engagement. This certainly didn't come up during our dinner conversations 😀
Yes, I'd feel hurt and betrayed as well if I were in that situation. My Mom used to read my diary and it was all about her. Oops..

😁 I saw the topic and thought I would skip this week. Then I flicked and saw the 1st photo and it reminded me of reaching for my "vanished" treasure.
I was bent out of shape about this for a prolonged time.
The sad thing is that I never managed to ask my mum why she didn't say anything to me about it.
I was so angry to discover that she actually went in my portfolio and discarded what she thought was "wrong" . I yelled, "DO NOT TOUCH MY BELONGINGS EVER AGAIN!"
Next time we meet, I'll pin her in a corner and ask her if she remembers...🤣

I hope your Mum felt the "love" when she "inquisited" your diary.😂

I wonder how that would go. I can hear your voice and imagine you while reading this lol. I had a chance to re-visit the diary experience with my Mom for the "love" she discovered in my diary. It went okay. It was also a relief to put my thoughts across. 😀

Hehe! Youth! Unforgettable encounters!

Congratulations @millycf1976! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP