No Regrets

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

image.png

Good Looking

She was by far the best looking girl in our school and she had the body to match. I was a seventeen year old hormonal wreck and had already transferred to a new school.

I was just stopping by the college to pick up transcripts when I was invited to her apartment for a small party with some old friends.

There was some pizza and drinks and maybe we had passed something else around the table as we sat together on the sofa watching some garbage on TV.

She talked about her boyfriend, who was gone, and how she didn't miss him. She said he was a jerk and just wants to cuddle up with someone and watch a movie. Then she looked at me and smiled.

Temptation

image.png

At that signal one of her friends said,

"It's getting late and I have class first hour."

Then everyone started getting up to leave. I was also almost out the door when she said.

"Wait here. I wrapped some left overs for you."

My heart raced and I didn't know what to do. Everybody else was gone. I was so buzzed and I knew that I needed to use the toilet. The bathroom was next to the door and I said,

"I need to use the restroom for a second."

Somehow in fifteen seconds, I gained control of my senses and looked in the mirror. My feeble knees stopped shaking and I realized I had to do what I had to do.

I opened the bathroom door and she was there smiling with some little cake in her hands. As soon as I picked it up she grabbed me and said,

"Nobody is here. At least give me a hug before you go."


That's exactly what I did and no more.

A lot of things were racing through my mind at the time. I could stay the night there and nobody would know. She would never tell her boyfriend.

Nobody in the school would know what happened. We could just enjoy a good time together and then I would go home in the morning. But something pricked my conscience during that time I was in the bathroom.

Decision Time

It was a verse from the Proverbs of Solomon that talked about the fate of one who sleeps with another man's wife:

"Blows and disgrace are his lot... For jealousy arouses a husband’s fury, and he will show no mercy when he takes revenge."

Some may consider my random but vivid memory a curse and others may consider it a blessing.

It wasn't exactly that I was afraid of her boyfriend although he was a big guy. I knew for sure he would never know. But I also knew for sure that I would never marry this girl or take responsibility for the action I thought about that night.

I just thought it was best to be left at a hug and a goodbye.

No regrets

I have no regrets. Life is not a drama where this guy has to sleep with that girl and then fight the next day. I don't look back at my younger self and say,

"Hey. You should have slept with her."

I accept the decisions my younger self made and I'm glad how things worked out. Actually she did marry that guy and they began their own business together. She is the CEO and he is the CFO. They are still together after thirty years.

I don't think that we have to always follow our impulses at the spur of the moment. I think those who are restrained find something even more pleasurable than a one night stand. They find a living and growing relationship built on love and trust.

I have no regrets, for the path I took leads to pure waters.

image.png

I recalled this incident when I read the prompt from @galenkp on the weekend engagement writing topics. The writing here is completely my own and have no part with AI here. The pictures also belong to me @mineopoly.

The video link is from the Guess Who Official Youtube.

American Woman can hypnotize.
But, you know.
I'm gonna leave.

Sort:  

So similar, such difference. The moment you mention past something else other than pizza, my mind goes Scoobies Doobie doo. I have so much regret looking back at my hormonal rush days. Not that I'm proud of it, moreover I have a daughter now. That's life.

I was going to use the word "Rush" in one of the subtitles, but I changed it to decision. Many people regret marrying the person they are with and they also regret not taking advantage of the many opportunities they had to get laid. I guess I could have been a stallion, but I wasn't and I don't regret that. I guess even more so if I had a daughter, but I'm proud of my boys and help them to put their life in another perspective beside the gochu (pepper).

I am so relieved that your actions were in control. I am not going to mention any of the religious impacts, yet, as a human, I suppose what you did was decent and brilliant.

Have a good day ☺️

A young man has many temptations but little wisdom. I was definitely using the correct head.

!LOL

I wish I could clean mirrors for a living.
It's just something I can see myself doing.

Credit: reddit
@sapphireissafy, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly

(1/10)
Thanks for supporting The LOLZ Project. We !LUV our users!

at least you didn't betray someone for a few moments of joy

Sometimes I wonder if it would have been better to follow along. I don't think anything would be better in the end. I'm glad I was rescued at this point and other times as well. !PIZZA

I think that you know that you did the exact right thing, not the right thing due to moral standards, but the right thing for you and who you are. Being true to oneself, especially at a young age is something to be truly proud of.

🤗💕🤗❤️

Thank you. I do respect young me, because it wasn't easy for me then. I can see years later the benefits of just a hug and goodnight instead of taking what really didn't belong to me at all !LUV

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@mineopoly(4/5) tipped @millycf1976
mineopoly tipped valggav

"Blows and disgrace are his lot... For jealousy arouses a husband’s fury, and he will show no mercy when he takes revenge."

I don't read the Bible, but these are wise words.

You were a wise young man. I'm happy to see that you're even wiser and have no regrets. 👍
😁

The book of Job was required reading for my humanities class in class and this was assigned from a professor who finished his PhD at Harvard. It's worthwhile to keep on the shelf and even to give a read through when you have a chance. I think you may also enjoy the book that follows, Esther. Anyway i started reading the bible in middle school when I changed schools. I read the Psalms and Proverbs a few times and they stuck.

Stay healthy and happy. I still haven't started much of a morning stretching routine. I've had a cold and don't feel up to it yet.

!LUV !PIZZA

Haha! I can't promise that I'll take up a bible... But my dad is a minister and I grew up going to church regularly, and stopped when I became a teenager.
I used to frustrate my Bible school teachers because for homework we had to study a verse, to recite the following Sunday. I always chose to present first...

I recited the same verse every week.

John 11:35 "Jesus Wept"

Of course, I was never a teacher's favourite 😆

You found the loophole really well. !LOL

Cartoonist found dead in home.
Details are sketchy.

Credit: reddit
@millycf1976, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly

(3/10)
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!

Haha! You can count on me for that 😆

Good man. Can't say I've always been pure but it's true that the better person can control their desires. Hedonism is great but the hangover is a shocker.

Nice story. I had the same happening once, some years ago and I took the same decision if I had as well, what a male would define "an easy road ahead".

I was engaged at the time, I was abroad for studying, she would have never known it BUT my responsible-self took the highest decision. And I left.

I do not regret of such and I am happy that I could prove myself continence and dignity

I don't know exactly why men like to collect things like trophys, cards, token, etc... People buy baseball cards or Pokemon cards expecting to get eventually get a good one. Relationships work the opposite way. The more collected the more difficult it is to have a good one.

!LUV