I Thought I Was The Best: WE88 posting topics

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

20220211_122622_0000.png
Image: Edited and designed @canva.com

Happy weekend friends. As usual, I will be answering some very vital questions from some of my past endeavours which I think as you read through will teach you something quality you may need to apply in your life. My answers will be from the #weekend-engagement topics as initiated by @galenkp. To participate, you can read up the rules WE88 posting topics.

20210514_164312_0000.png

Option three: Not best

Describe a situation where you did not apply your best endeavours and received a bad result because of it. What could you have done differently or better, why didn't you do right in the first place and, because of your failure to apply your best endeavours, what was the result. Bonus points for explaining what you'd do differently if given the chance.

20210514_164312_0000.png

In Life, when you haven't tasted another person's mother's food, you won't know what they suffer or enjoy.

When I was in class two (2) in senior secondary school, as the youngest student in my class, I was doing well. My teachers could attest to the fact that I was the best. You know such a feeling could take over you and get into your head, exactly how it occurred to me.
During our class sessions, I had an idea of most topics before the teacher even began to explain the new concept.

Trial Examination

Since I felt that way, I thought I was ripe enough to sit for an examination that I ought to sit for when I reach the final class, senior secondary three.
My parents agreed to register me for the exam. For me, I just wanted to feel included, I knew I wasn't very prepared for the task but I accepted it.
The examination commenced two weeks before we would be resuming the final class, so other students who were writing the examination like me were not in school. After the exams, we resumed school and our pride was as high as a 50-50 shoulder pad. I became a peacock thinking I had achieved what no one had ever achieved without the release of the result.

pexels-photo-7092339.jpeg
RODNAE production

The results were released after three month and behold it was terrible. I was so dazed because I couldn't pass one subject at credit level, it was that bad.
That was an awakening call for me though because I had to changed my attitude towards my studies, now that I am in my finals.

What Took My Attention.

Preparation is the mother of success.

I realised later that there is no shortcut to success. If I hadn't prepared, then I shouldn't be dazed at the outcome.
If I had known, I would have faced my studies squarely and prepared for the examination.
The case wouldn't have been the same if I had burnt my night candles.

All these would have shaped me better to sit for that examination. Now I know better.

One thing that took my attention back then was my friends and our desire to write songs and dance and also follow after girls. These factors and influences battered my chances of having a good result at first.
We would even attend disco parties at night, scaling the window and back very early in the morning, snoring in deep sleep, pretending to have read throughout the night.

Failure isn't the end of the world. You can fail as many times as you do not prepare, what is best is that you pick the pieces of your life and forge ahead.

What I Would Have Done Differently If Given The Chance

Dear weekenders, if I had to go back in time with the same situation, I would first take my studies seriously.

Realising that success comes after a concerted effort of studying and depending on one's ability, I won't joke with the opportunities that I have.

I will seek help from my teachers and classmates who are smarter than I instead of allowing pride to take its toll on me.

The Result

Upon seeing the result of the examination I wrote in senior secondary two and seeing that it was a woeful performance, I challenged myself with the following steps:

√ No more parties.

√ No more pursuing girls.

√ No more unserious friends.

√ No more music lyrics for the time being.

pexels-photo-7092345.jpeg
RODNAE production

With these, I was able to lead a triangular life during that time but it paid at last. When I sat for the final examination, it was very applaudable. I had my papers in one sitting and today I am grateful that even though the first exam did not come out well, the second gave me a testimonial that I once challenged myself.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrenglish! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 3000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 8
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!