From Coconut to Memories: Reflecting My Journey of Coconut Farming

"When the present one day becomes your past, never forget that it shaped you.
Never forget that it made you beautiful"

  • Ranata Suzuki

Sometimes, there are experiences we missed that already happened in the past, especially those experiences that hone us into what we are today. It appears in our senses especially when we encounter it unexpectedly.

Have a great day everyone. Today, I will show you one of my experiences that honed me into what I am today. Yes, my past wasn't easy, at a very young age, I learned to strive hard, to learn things and skills, and to live and survive. Yes, I never regret what I experienced before, because it helped me a lot in my becoming.

20231112_220828_0000.png

It's been a normal Sunday and I am just staying at the house doing some stuff such as cleaning the roof of my house from the falling leaves from the mulberry tree and also fixating the line of the electricity inside my house. But my father-in-law came into the yard and started climbing the coconut tree for the harvest of old coconut fruit as copra, so I decided to help him since I missed doing this stuff for a long time. Harvesting coconut was also our source of income back then when I was still a teenager.

IMG_20231112_154906.jpg

IMG_20231112_154854.jpg

While my father-in-law was opening the old coconut fruit, I volunteered to extract the coconut meat from the shell. It is almost 100 pieces of coconut fruit we harvested this time. I enjoyed it very much. Yes, it is very tiring since it consumes a lot of energy to do that thing, but I never felt tired of doing it. I remember those things back when I was a teenager when I used to climb a 15- 20-meter tall coconut tree when harvesting coconuts as copra. Then I also opened the coconut fruit with the use of an axe, extracting it, then put the coconut meat in sacks and carried it to the nearest buyer.

IMG_20231112_154841.jpg

IMG_20231112_154819.jpg

IMG_20231112_154709.jpg

They were surprised to see me doing this stuff, and I told them that this was my sort of living back then when I was a teenager. Oh, by the way, the price of Copra nowadays is expensive compared to the past. Back then, the price of fresh Copra was just 4 pesos per kilo, and now it is 10 pesos/kilo. And the dried copra was 11 pesos/kilo, and now it is 20 pesos/kilo. My father-in-law said that he is going to dry this one in the heat of the sun so that he could earn a lot higher compared to selling it fresh.

IMG_20231112_154728.jpg

IMG_20231112_154656.jpg

IMG20231112155056.jpg

It took me about 40 minutes to extract the coconut meat from about 100 pieces of coconut. It is a tiring, yet satisfying activity for me. After extracting it all and putting it in a sack, I estimated its weight, and it was almost 25 kilos. When it dries up, I estimated it to weigh about 15-17 kilos. After the task, my father-in-law was very happy as he got to carry the Copra to the drying area. I felt tired a little bit while telling my wife about my past experiences of doing coconut farming.

IMG_20231112_154613.jpg

It's a bit painful after doing the task since my tool used has a metal handle and I have no gloves, but it's okay for me.

There were moments when we regained old memories, especially past experiences and we suddenly missed them and loved to experience them back. It is very satisfying. It is very important not to forget what we have experienced, and what has honed us to become today. Looking back on the past, while heading to the future and enjoying the present is something very important.

How about you, what are your past experiences that you wished to do or wished to experience today? Feel free to drop your comments below, and don't forget to share and upvote. Thank you everyone for dropping by. Have a great weekend.

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

This is indeed a tough job...taking out white piece from.cocnut require too much effort

Yes. This is a tough job. But I enjoyed it. That was our support of living back then at an early age.

I know when inhale to do it home I make some.jnjury to myself.

Coprasan is one of my Father's sources of income. I remember my childhood when I used to join him harvesting our Coconuts

It's a common way of earning a living. People were used to farming rather than working in factories.

Uh.. I want eat it, especially if this content has turned into jelly 😄👌👌👌🍹

Yeah., if it is young coconut fruit, it can be made into our delicious juice. Then for the old one, we can use it as coconut milk for our cuisine. Back then, we used to eat those paired with cooked "saba" banana or grilled corn.

Sounds good what you say .... I hope I can try all this one day .

Never had the experience na mag-copra though merong mga coprahan nearby.

100 coconut in 40 mins expert level already! I can imagine a newbie doing such for sure it will take hours before they can accomplish the task. Great job man!

Mas masarap parin ang kumain nalang hhahha.

Mas madali talaga kapag meron nang experience sa pag kokopra, pero para sa akin ngayon medyo nahihirapan narin sa paggawa ng ganito kasi matagal na rin na panahon ang nakalipas na palagian ko tong ginagawa. Pero overall, masaya naman, at nakakarelieve ng stress dahil naexperience ko ulit yung bagay na matagal ko nang hindi nagagawa.