I met my father at a bowling alley by pure coincidence.

in Weekend Experiences9 months ago (edited)

It is sad not to have a father figure to turn to in times of doubt and need, but sometimes life gives us surprises.

Next, I present my weekly participation in the initiative created by @galenkp called Weekend-Engagement writing topics in its 168th week Link Here

Tell us about the strangest coincidence that has happened to you.




Source

I was born in 1967, in a macho society where men believe they are superior to women, they do not show their emotions, they do not do the housework and they do not show physical or emotional weakness.

My father was legally married to my mother, but when I was born he did not want to assume the responsibilities of fatherhood, additionally my mother discovered an infidelity on his part and had many arguments. One day without permission he took me to a pool hall and that was the straw that broke the camel's back, I was only five months old!

After a terrible argument my father left the house and from that day on he never came back, he never even sent money to my mother for child support.

I grew up and was raised by my mother and my aunts, who instilled in me values, respect and good treatment towards women, who at the end of the day if it wasn't for them none of us would exist.

Since I was young I have loved bowling, and I would even sneak out of school with my friends to go bowling.

I remember very clearly the day when the greatest coincidence that I remember in this life happened; I escaped from school with five classmates we went to the mall to a place called Pin 5 very close to the school where I studied.

We rented a bowling lane to play bowling together with the respective shoes; in one of the lanes there was a group of three young men drinking beer and smoking, it looked like they were having a good time, and also always knocked down all the pins, doing what in bowling is called Strike.

Out of simple curiosity, I approached that group to ask those gentlemen what was their technique to make so many Strikes, very kindly they taught me how to hold the ball in a better way, the importance of the weight of the ball and the posture when throwing the ball. I thanked them and rejoined my fellow students to play.


Source
Approximately fifteen minutes went by and through the microphone the person in charge of the ticket office said my name and I approached to see what was going on, coincidentally one of the young men was talking to the employee, I arrived at the ticket office and he asked me how old I was and I told him, at that time I was only thirteen years old. That man was staring at me very intently, and quietly withdrew.

At the ticket office I asked the attendant why he was calling me, and he answered that it was not me they were calling but the person who had just left; I immediately turned to see the group of men I had talked to earlier and noticed that they were gone, that they had left.

I wondered internally why that man had the same name as me, although my concern disappeared as I continued playing with my friends.

In the evening at home, I received one of the biggest scoldings my mother has ever given me, because she found out that I was bowling at a time when I should be at school, I was perplexed and I took courage and said: "Mom, who told you that?

At that moment my mom took a chair and sat down, took a deep breath and told me your uncles were at that bowling alley and one of them called me on the phone at work. Immediately, I asked the question she didn't want me to ask: and that man who had the same name as me was my father. Frightened and with a pale mouth, she told me: Yes, but let's not talk about it anymore.

That is how I met a non-existent father, by chance, if today I were asked what he was like I would not be able to say, I remember the strange anecdote, but I do not remember his face. I don't know if that brief encounter dictated by chance has touched a chord in my father, I don't harbor in my heart any hatred or resentment, however the actions he did, (and that I learned about as an adult), cannot be erased.

Thank you for letting me share this experience with the community, in a way it has served me as a catharsis. Best regards and happy weekend.

Sort:  

Wow, that was quite a coincidence, to be so close and yet so far away at the same time. That you heard your name and they weren't referring to you, but to your father, seems like a soap opera moment.

I also went to Pink5 several times 😉

That you say a real coincidence, how amazing that even though you never lived together you had the same tastes I loved your story,

That is a coincidence, unfortunately I have not had the opportunity to hear my father's story and compare it with the one my mother told me. Thank you for visiting me and giving your opinion.

I'm not sure how this is happening, maybe you're written some Spanish text in the post preview on Peakd? Please go and check and edit.

image.png

Congratulations @nbarrios67! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 2250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final