You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 25: Your phone photo

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200117_13084201.jpeg

I sometimes make fun of my fellow book readers (all in good heart of course), specially when they go to great lengths to do book photography that makes no sense! Why does a book has to hang from a wet tree branch to look good?! Haha!

So I took my reader, opened the most uninteresting (relatively) book I had and put it on a heap of debris of bricks, trash. A satire photo, you could say.

But guess what? They all loved the photo and praised it on insta and fb! 😂

Sort:  

Lol...This is GOLD!

This satire, let's just call it sarcasm, is something any good Australian would do. Sarcasm is our unofficial language!

I used to do satirical photos like this to mock those who can't seem to eat food without photographing it for Facebook or Instagram first. I'd eat the food then take a photo of the scraps, bones, gravy and the left over dregs of the meal and so on...Then post it with the cation, best steak ever or something of the sort. I was quite famous for it in certain circles.

Then I saw the light and got rid of social media.

Good times though, brought back by your similar satirical, bloody sarcastic, "book photo".

Great phone photo entry my man, totally what I was looking for here!

!ENGAGE 25

Haha thanks!

"who can't seem to eat food without photographing it" — I know of these bunch as well! I guess they are the same all over the world!

Taking photos of scraps, bones, ah, that's a nice touch indeed! Good laugh!

I drastically reduced my time on Facebook but not entirely, have some strong book and cinema related community there that I'd like to keep in touch with. But for usual 'Facebooking', I guess I've said goodbye to.

Drastically reduced, is better than overuse although I didn't cut down myself, just cut it out altogether. I knew I'd miss certain aspects relating to shooting and off-roading, rogaining etc. but I made the call and I'll be honest, it's been the best thing ever. It worked for me, I don't expect it to work for others. I mean, there's alternative ways of staying in the loop, and a certain purity that comes from not staying in the loop and forging my own paths.

I have like 4 people that can get my attention on FB because I get email notifications when they post. That is my entire exposure to the place anymore.

I agree that saying adios to FB was a great move on my part. If I could figure out how to get those 4 people to Hive I'd be a happy man.

It's not my thing, that's for sure and even when I was there I never really looked at it, just used it for gun stuff, not posting, just keeping apprised of stuff. I ended up realising I didn't need it and that was that...Gone.

A pity those four don't hit hive huh? Never say never though I suppose.

I'm thinking that the next HF will bring a 'no hive' option where they don't have to learn the whole process to take part. That would be a good thing.

I agree, it's. Very complicated thing really and to simplify it will mean people can come along, hassle free, and just enjoy it. That's what people really want I guess. When this happens it's my hope that us early adopters benefit.

Sad for me is that I tried to get who are close to me on hive and they seem enthusiastic at first but none of them landed here so far. I wonder whats up with that.
One of them said it looked like reddit. Not sure whether that was a compliment or not!

I don't know what Reddit is, never seen it, but I've found the same, people seem interested in the monetisation but rarely follow though. I onboarded a really good user a while back, who did some good stuff, stuck around a little then just ceased. She's a good friend of mine and I don't blame her but it's that lack of follow through that hurts the numbers here. Her tag was @stuffing, an artist. More like her, and every other type of person, would be good...Provided they stick around.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Ahahahahahaha! That's just great! I am an inevitable smart ass and that just makes me giggle!

I'm pretty sure I've never taken a photo of a book cover. Now a days if you want to see it you are two clicks from Amazon.

That may say quite a little about FB and Instagram.

Ha, ha, ha. This is a blast. Satire in a media like book pictures. People do love to do silly things when they read or about what they read. This is pure gold! Making the electronic reader romantic. It even alludes to the ruin of nature through technology. Deep things to think about!