Sort:  

You're welcome.

You have an account, just log in with the same details you use to log into Hive/Peakd. Keychain is what I use. It's just another frontend.

You can boost posts with those points. 150 = $1 as a vote from Ecency. I would never boost my own posts so I give the points away rather than self-vote with them.

So if I use 15 points on someone's post, they get 10 cents? That is a lovely prize you've given me. A little something I want to pass along. Nice. I'll try to figure it out. There are a few folks I'd love to boost. Thanks so much.

 10 months ago (edited) 

They have a 150 point minimum I think. I'm not really sure, I don't use Ecency much but the boost slider seems to bottom out at 150 - I've never been able to boost at less than 150.

I see. So I can bonus someone a dollar. Sweet. I'll be choosy.

If I post through that front end, do I earn ecency points? I think I tried to do that early on, but the fees I paid to ecency exceeded anything I earned from them, so I stopped using it. I might be confusing ecency with something else.

 10 months ago (edited) 

Ecency have no fees. You just post like Peakd. You will earn points for posting, commenting and so on, even just having it open earns you points.

I'll be honest and say I totally disagree with self-boosting, but the power to support others in the community is a good thing, as long as we don't see a return to circle-jerking. I sometimes downvote people who have self-boosted (it's self-voting), people who should know better. I'll do it again too. We need to support the community in general and being greedy does not do that.

If you have questions @melinda010100 is probably the right person to ask, I know nothing, because I'm a knucklehead.

lol. I think of you much more highly than as a knucklehead.

I'm afraid I recently started upvoting any of my posts that earn less than $4, usually freewrites. I know the whole shebang about the rewards pool being drained, but I seem to have been blacklisted by not a few of the curators, so I think it is fair for me to earn another 4 cents on posts that took a good half hour or more of my time if they haven't gotten $4. I give them till the end of 24 hours, when little more will come in. Lots of people with large upvotes 100% upvote all their own posts, and often their own comments too. That is pushing it if you ask me, and I don't support those accounts.

I guess I don't know what circle jerking is, because I see an awful lot of it going on, and find it far more disturbing than a small account upvoting their own posts. Friends who always upvote each others posts, often without even reading them, is what you mean by circle jerking, right?

 10 months ago (edited) 

Lol, thank you, I really am though, but not a stupid one. 😁

I think it is fair for me to earn another 4 cents on posts that took a good half hour or more of my time if they haven't gotten $4

I don't, I think it's self-limiting.

The thing is, people see that self-vote and may hold back on their (much larger) upvote because of it, (I do that actually), so you lose in the long-run. If that 4 cents is so important to you, comment on one of my posts, I vote top level comments at larger than 4 cents...like I have with this comment. Make the comment a good one and you're likely to get more...like those on my last post about sploooshing on my jeans. That way you can cease self-voting (for 4 cents) and probably pick up more upvotes on those comments and your posts instead.

My suggestion, make the reward of writing a post about the writing itself.

Lots of people with large upvotes 100% upvote all their own posts, and often their own comments too. That is pushing it if you ask me, and I don't support those accounts.

So, it's ok for you to self-vote and not others? I think all self-voting should be stopped.

Friends who always upvote each others posts, often without even reading them, is what you mean by circle jerking, right?

Yep.