Sort:  

A Unimog isn't an OKA but an OKA is similar, designed for rugged off-road use and hauling big loads. Similar, but different. We have Unimogs here - The military use them as do private operators.

http://oka-atv.com/

Thank you and I have never heard of an Oka.
Will have a look at the link and sure that I am going to like it.

Yeah man! A perfect truck. I suppose they cost the price of a house.
Something like this can be very great to travel with in Botswana as the elephants will not bother it!
How come that you don't have one? It's ideal for a couple to travel with and one can even mount a 125cc motorbike on the back of this truck for short trips.

There's a couple reasons why I don't have one. I don't have $150,000 to spend on a vehicle I may only use for the 4 weeks of annual leave I have and secondly because I don't think it's the right vehicle for what I need to do, it's overkill. If anything I'd be ok with a 4x4 Iveco Daily which are only around low $100,000. I have a Toyota Landcruiser though which does what I need right now. I'm not one to waste money on things I don't need.

Ah! Like I thought, the price of a house.
Sound thinking that you have and that's why I only have a small VW Polo.
But as we have many dirt roads, I have recently changed the wheels from it's 17" low profiles. They are a pain on ground roads.

So I got 15" rims and fitted tires with more rubber to make up the 17".
Of course I would also love a Toyota Landcruiser but...
So, I am also in your wastage of money club :)

You know, for the last 20 years I've wanted a Landcruiser but chose not to have one. It's not because I couldn't buy one, more that I couldn't buy it in the way I wanted to at that point. So I waited. I had some nice trucks, very capable off-roaders like Hilux, Ranger and D-max, but the Landcruiser had to wait. In 2018 I decided to get it done and you know what? It was worth the wait. It's not the most costly car I have purchased, but the best I have had, the most suited...It wasn't cheap, $100K is a lot of money here, but I am happy to have spent it and glad I waited. Instant gratification is one thing, the value I find in saving, working hard for something and then achieving it is quite another thing altogether. Would I like an Iveco Daily, an OKA or Unimog, a Hummer (with .50 cal on top) etc. Yeah of course, but I'm content with what I have.

You said about your Polo before, nice little car but probably not so good on the dirt as you say...How has the 15's and the additional tyre-wall you gained performed? Better suspension over the rough roads I'd say.

You are absolutely right and I had a very wise mother. After her divorce, we had to leave the farm and she took us to the big city to make a new life for herself. At first we we moved in with her brother for a time, then we moved into one room, which was madness, but then she found a little rental house and we moved in with nothing but our few suitcases.
Let me tell you that she never bought anything on credit and ever month that she got paid, she bought something for the house. Piece by piece she put that house together and it was a life lessson to all of us of how to go through life.

Yes, agreed with you that we value things more because we worked and saved for it.
The Polo now runs so much better with more rubber under her. I will soon go and try the ground road mountain pass on our way to Hermanus and will let you know if she made it.
On tar she feels like a Merc compared to the jarring low profiles.

It speaks highly of a person who nibbles away at a problem, life itself I guess, and moves it forward slowly but surely. I'm sure you'd thank her now, years later, for the good example she set and the lessons you learned. :)

Those low profile tyres are nice, look good and help with performance a great deal, but are not great from a comfort perspective. I'm glad the Polo is going well; When you want to enter it into a Formula One race you can always swap the low profiles back on. Lol.