Sort: Β 
Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Dinner is on me when you do!

Sounds great and I would love to fire some of those great rifles that you care for.

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

I'll make sure there's loads of ammo.

Can't quite remember, but 49 years ago (1972 army) it was 3 shots for grouping, one shot for wind and the last shot was full on target.
Would this still be the same?

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

You mean in training? I guess it depends on the situation, In a combat or field situation sighters are not always possible, but are done. In competition I've seen people shoot for a miss to gauge wind at the target *through the dust that's kicked up but I've never done it. I always go for an impact, in any situation, and train a lot around following up quickly, with adjustment, if required.

Yeah in training at the shooting range. In action it is totally different as the instruction is to shoot to kill, so if the training was done well, then one shot to hit the target was good enough.
No time for sighters, as it would alert the target. With pistols a double tap,tap was required.
Luckily in my time no war was happening.

Hope that you guys had a good Sunday mate!