You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

Oh man, my army webbing kit is a must, filled with protein packed dog biscuits, a fire kit and utensils, sleeping bag, medical kit and basically everyting else that you can think of.
Secondly I would have a few Ostrich egg shells filled with water, plugged and buried for later use.
And thirdly my bible, to pray that a lightning bolt or a lion doesn't get me.

Sort:  

Interesting choice, you know, for one thing, you still have your bible, that speaks a lot of your faith.

To each his own my friend and I my case, my bible is the handbook for my life.

Thats beautiful.

Interesting choices as far as the ostrich eggs...I mean I know they have hard shells and all but are they often used for water storage? Interesting stuff. I'm with you on the webbing...I have a big post going up tomorrow answering the weekend-engagement topic and I mention my go-bag with a heap of stuff...Webbing does the same thing...It's the fact it's ready to grab and go that matters.

Hmm, lightning bolt or lion...Either would probably mess you day up a little. Best avoided. Lol.

!ENGAGE 20

Ostrich shells was a secret that we learned aboy in the army Galen.
They make a perfect water bottle and for some reason the water stays fresher for longer than when it's stored in metal and plastic.

The Khoi-San was the first people in the Cape and they have a fantastic history. Dressed in buck skin loin cloths, they survivedby hunting with a bow and poisoned arrows. They used snake venom to poison the tips of their arrows, so if they wound an animal, they would follow it, as the venom would eventually lame the animal.

They lived in the bush and crossed the wide plains of Africa on foot. Masters of tracking anything that left a mark on the sand. It is said that when they scored an animal, they would eat until their stomachs swell up, and then won't eat for the next 3 days.
I don't know how true this is, but you can always ask Mrs. Google.
https://www.exploring-africa.com/en/botswana/san-or-bushmen/hunting-san

I have heard of these people before...It's amazing how humanity have always seems to find a way to thrive...I wonder how it'll go in the next 100 years though. I'll be dead, but I still wonder.

I think that the people 100 years ago also wondered how thing would be now Galen.
Disposable flying cars, electronic chips in everyone's head, no food and only nutrient rich pills.
So many things that one can think about, but you are right, as thankfully we will not see it.

There's much change to come...Probably most not for the better.

Sorry, late as been away the whole day. Hey that rhimes.
"In those days you will see things that you have never seen before"
So true, as even a little virus that we have never seen before has stopped the whole world.

I don't look forward to the things the next generations are going to have to deal with. I'm hoping to set ourselves up in a way that gives the little man some land away from people that he can grow his own family on and stay far away from the technocrat shit they are trying to force on everyone.

This is smart thinking...if you can make it happen, help him develop the skills he will need then I htink you'll be doing him a service. Those kids playing fortnight right now, hanging out at the skate park...Well, let's just say their skills will not be much use to them. Just saying.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I've heard of the Ostrich eggs for water bottles but have 0 experience as ostriches are just pretty rare around here.

An Army ruck (sack) would work pretty well, particularly if there was a rifle and ammo in it. :)

I don't think that Ostriches like to migrate Sir Tom, they only fly around here locally 🤣
But one never knows, with all of the global warming going on, maybe one will land there in your neck of the woods one day:)

Yep, you are right, a rifle will always come in handy.

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @bigtom13, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

An ostrich egg huh? Are they durable like steel or something? Lol sounds like I need to learn more about those things!

Some good choices and having the Bible is a first one I've seen but important for many people so I can definitely see where someone would keep it handy! Plus it would be good to read something while you are in a long term situation. What better than the good book?

Yep, Ostrich eggs have very thick shells and for some reason they keep the water fresh to drink.
The Khoi-San hunters had marked spots on the wandering trails where they buried the eggs filled with water in the sand. They were a nomadic people and never stayed for long in one place.
So when the hunters went out, they knew where to find water.

Our forefathers traveled in darkest Africa with the bible in their ox wagons and they faced many life threatening dangers with a rifle in the one hand and a bible in the other. So yeah I ave learned to trust in miracles, as we see many of them happening in our charity work.

Cheers and #LUV