You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 29: Talkin' toys

Ha, we made our own scooters, a plank "V'd" at both ends with a bolt passing through a car's ball bearing in the v. Then another verticle plank and a broomstick over the top for a handle.
Unfortunately the handle couldn't turn and the scooter could only go in in a straight line.
I remember my accident with my scooter and the double hiding I got for tearing my school short pants and for cutting off a piece of my mom's broom handle 🤣

Sort:  

Oh, no! Not mom's broom handle! I think I always knew that was off limits...

Not that I didn't get plenty of 'hiding' for other offenses real or imagined, but I don't think mom ever lost a broom or mop handle..

Yep! Holy territory around that broom Sir Tom. I think that she was riding that broom at night and the missing piece would have been like a flat on a car 🤣

One day I must tell you what happened when I tried to find the the little guy that rang the two bells on her prized alarm clock.
Of course I stripped the clock, but I didn't find the guy and that poor clock never worked again.

Christmas wishes to you and Sam my friend!

Just one. Please tell me you have a picture of that custom build @papillioncharity.

Nah! That was 50+ years ago my friend and we had no cameras those days 🤣

I'll gladly take that visual you painted then. I would've been about -6. You mighta had the ultimate prototype right there 50 years ago.

Hahaha, yes it could go like the clappers with those steel wheels, especially down the off ramp of the old Victoria bridge. That same bridge cost me many skins, as like any other invention there were some "teething" problems.

Going at top speed with no brakes presented some "problems" and the steel ball racers were slippery as hell on the tarred roads.
I leave the rest to your imagination, which should include coming to an abrupt halt at full speed against a curb and landing ass over kettle in someone's garden!

I guess everybody but me has a crash adventure with a scooter! :D

Hahaha, well should I say "knock on wood" here?
Count yourself lucky my friend.