I swear I'd live | Mati City, Davao Oriental

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


It's me again! I know I haven't posted in this community for a while now but today, I feel ecstatic to share this recent adventure with you and how I ended up doing this on a weekend.

As previously mentioned in one of my posts, I did solo backpacking for eight (8) straight days in Davao Region. It's part of Mindanao, one of the three main island groups in the Philippines. I know for those who aren't from the Philippines 8 days might sound too short for backpacking but if you're a Filipino with a 9-5 job on weekdays, 8-day travel is a long period of time to be away.

I did longer backpacking before Covid but I have other plans for the rest of the year with friends and loved ones; I had to be as intentional and as picky as possible in choosing which destinations should I go to and what activities I had to do on each destination. I will share the other details in a separate post but the top of mind when exploring Mindanao, especially Davao Oriental is Mati City known for Dahican Beach, dumbed as one of the longest shorelines in this part of the country with its 7-km stretch of white powdery shoreline. But aside from Dahican Beach, there's one more thing in Mati City that every adrenaline seeker shouldn't miss!

It's riding an ultralight aircraft (open type) through Mindanao Saga Flying Club. A 15-minute ride will cost you Php 3,500 ($64) for open-type aircraft and Php 3,800 ($69) for closed-type aircraft.

It was a Friday and my 4th day of backpacking. I messaged Mindanao Saga Flying Club's Facebook page and I was told I should be in their office by four (4) in the afternoon. Arrived there earlier than the call time but unfortunately, I wasn't able to ride that day; the wind was too strong and the ultralight aircraft couldn't sustain such strong winds. They told me the best time to fly is during sunrise. With all honesty, I am not a morning person. If there's one thing in the world that I despise that's waking up early but I know it's worth the sacrifice. I woke up as early as 4 AM and waited for my contact to pick me up from my hostel.

I was the first person to arrive in their office. The aircraft was ready to take me around Dahican. I could tell you how wonderful the experience was but I'd rather show you why it's been wonderful. I hope you enjoy this video of my ride!

I haven't been this alive! I could ride more if I have more money haha

GOPR1727_Moment.jpg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Ka nice ani nga experience ba! 🥰🥰🥰🥰

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow!! So adventurous 😱 for someone with no sense of direction, I can't imagine myself going on an eight-day solo backpacking trip. The longest I survived was two days. Haha. And that okay I'm now adding riding an ultralight aircraft to my bucket list. Thanks for sharing this vid! 😁

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Wow! It's a breath taking activity but for sure a very good experience to have. I don't know if I can handle myself in that kind of activity. You're so brave taking it sis and yes it was a great break for you.

OMG! OMG!!! That look so much fun! I think nakakapag pawis din ng kili kili yan at ng kamay, haha. If its me nanlalamig na talaga kamay ko. Pero gosh, that's one of a hell experience. Ang mahal lang aguy 😆

Ohhhh! What a fun experience and the view is breathtaking!😍

Each experience is unique! And surely you got an excellent one on this adventure! The place you visited was beautiful 😍. I loved it 💚.

My friend in Cebu experienced this and I was jealous. Hehe!

Sana all sis.. Sana maexperience ko rin to hehe

Maytag makasuway sad ko ani bisag minyo na ko. Kanindot ani. Ganahan kaau kog ingon ani...

Wow! Such an amazing experience huh! This is one in my bucket list though I am afraid of heights but I really wanted to try this one also. Thank you for sharing this fantastic experience of yours. Stay safe and God bless.

This must be a breathtaking experience! I could take a such ride as many times as possible. I think the cost of taking the ride is worth it.