Don't Bother Calling - I've Gone Bush

Did you know I get an extreme parasympathetic nervous response that shoots like electricity up the back of my thighs when someone gets hurt? It could be a paper cut, or a severed finger - no matter, I have to stomp my legs to get rid of the painful sensation that shoots through my body in extreme empathy. It's debilitating, and is getting worse over the years. It could even be telling me the story, like last week when I was surfing and someone was telling me how they were in recovery because they had severed the top half of their hand cutting palings with a machine. They sewed it back on, and he was paddling again, but still. Friggin ouch. So the idea of spending the weekend doing first aid - yeah nah, as Aussies say - I like the idea, but I'll pass.

We bought a 14ft trailer sailer last year. We took it out for a sail on a lake, the wind came up and Jamie started shouting at me to pull the rope and I'm like - what rope? Which one do you mean? He's shouting and I'm scared and crying and so he took the sails down, we motored back to shore, and he sold the boat. So I'm not going sailing, either.

image.png

Every day I've been practicng my archery, so although I'd love to get lessons this weekend, they're coming. In our town we have a woman who came fourth for the world archery championships and she is happy to give us some lessons.

image.png

As for either knitting or sewing, I have a post coming tomorrow that will explain exactly whilst I'd rather shoot myself with an arrow than do that.

Growing fresh produce? Nailed it already. Although I wish I could eat half the weeds that are plaguing me out there. Realistically, though @galenkp's list of things we could choose to do has many options, most of them, well, been there done that, or am in the process of doing them, or will never do them again. And I aint ever going to drive a rally car, though banger racing looks hilarious fun and Jamie and I very nearly got into it, after one fantastic day watching it in a field somehwere in Dorset. Plus, the caravandalism was hilarious, where people were smashing old caravans into each other. I didn't realise that could be so much fun.

So from the Weekend Experiences list, it's navigating with map and compass for me. I'm not very good at directions, mainly as I don't really practice it. Like anything, 10,000 hours is required to be an expert, but who has that amount of time for getting lost in the bush with no GPS or google maps?

image.png

What really appeals to me is that if you need a compass, there's probably been an EMP event or something that has totally taken out the internet and that appeals to me enormously. I'm so freaking sick of being connected all the time, and there being an app for goddamn everything, even the things that don't need an app. I can say that with complete irony, as here I am on the internet, writing a blog post about wishing I wasn't.

Here, we call it going bush - please don't snigger, I can hear you - to escape into the woods or wilds, perhaps for some time. It's about adventure and escape, about living off the land, and for me, being at one with it.

And who doesn't long, in some way, for that.

Pass me the map and compass.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

I know how to navigate with map and compass, and always take both when I go remote and to areas I don't know...I mean the right maps too, not some nutbag walking trail map, topographic maps. It's a great skill but one that has to be used to stay sharp, like most things. I generally use Garmin handheld GPS units but the map thing is a back-up and when I'm out and about always try my hand with it so stay sharp.

That's so coool you do that. I love topographic maps. Very common in England and we used them all the time walking as you can't really find your way without them as Englands landscapes are quite complicated!!

Oh yeah, I can imagine they'd come in very handy there. Now you just made me want to go back to the UK and do some tramping.

Did you know I get an extreme parasympathetic nervous response that shoots like electricity up the back of my thighs when someone gets hurt?

I get the same sensation on the back of my knees. It's like a cold sensation. I also get it on other sensitive bits, depending on where the injury took place. Heehee

Good to hear you have so many outdoor activities. Going bush is better than going postal :)

Oh wow, really? It's so wierd. They reckon it's common in woman post childbirth as I never used to have it.

Hey thought you might like this ... Thought of both you and @zeraton

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-26/loab-age-of-artificial-intelligence-future/101678206

AI writing, art, assistance, etc. has been a mind-bending development, and the party is just getting started. Thanks for the article!

I thought you'd like it... It's fodder for a story too!

Interesting... Loab huh?... Crazy how advanced modern technology has become today !

Hmm... You know, reading loab's story gives me an idea for a seemingly messed up horror story. Yes :)

So, thank you!

I knew it would!!! Drop me a message if you write it.

Will do 😅

I used to go hiking every weekend until my hiking partner got back with his girlfriend.

You should do so again and jump out at them on path 🤪😂 PS hope your heart not too broken...

We were not romanticly involved.

If I should follow the directions or description given to me by Google location in my place I might miss my track possibly because most of the areas are not captured or something but I can't depend so much on the aid of my GPRS I rather use the natural decriminalization to know to which direction I go . Who would even call try calling as when I go far into the bush I would have no connections even my mobile phone becomes a calculator. Lol

Oh yes google doesn't always work! Especially in remote locations or walking trails!

That's the case of my locality save I go to the urban area.

I've gone bush because travel adventure and no time for personal grooming.

Sorry. You said not to but it's too good an opportunity to miss :D

Have a blast. Best way to regroup and remember 🥰👍

Haha it's such an Australian thing that makes other people laugh 😂😂😂

"As for either knitting or sewing, I have a post coming tomorrow that will explain exactly whilst I'd rather shoot myself with an arrow than do that."
... I can relate to this line too @riverflows ...😅 I don't like, knitting or sewing either (hate it actually)😂😂

It looked like you had a great weekend. I don't know how to use a compass, never tried. I would try to learn it hopefully soon.🥰

I hate it PASSIONATELY... GLAD I'm not only one!

Sounds like you've about got the list covered 👍 I have a few guns but don't post about it much because people tend to have strong opinions about guns. I really don't. I grew up around them and they are just a part of rural life.

Yes I understand the American gun thing, culturally in particular. @galenkp's Outdoors and more community allows for that kind of content, I wouldn't worry about annoying people on Hive with practical gun ownership.

Yep I long for that… disconnected with the world. Connecting with nature. Yep… all in 😎😊

I so understand you.

Did you know I get an extreme parasympathetic nervous response that shoots like electricity up the back of my thighs when someone gets hurt?

Hmm... Interesting. Either you're a really genuine Empath, or you greatly suffer from a condition known as Mirror- pain synaesthesia. I've read about either of those conditions before, and it was always so fascinating to think that there were actually people like that out there, living like that!

I have a friend who is a natural, hardcore empath and I just newly became acquainted with another Hive on here whom also has that synaesthesia thing. Their way of life and perceiving things intrigue me...

Interesting... So if I told you about the weekend I stubbed my toe so hard on the bed, that I severed every single toe muscle and tendor in my right foot, does that perhaps spark up any reaction in you?😀

I'm curious...

No it doesn't! Perhaps the written word doesn't trigger it? I think it IS a kind of synaesthesia. But I do have a stupid degree of empathy as well.

Ah yes, perhaps. Pff... If only you could send voice notes in the comments👀.

Ha! Stupid? I don't know... I find that empaths often make pretty good people and even better friends.