You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 30: Double topic!

Hello all! And Happy New Year! A track that I found this past year that I can't listen to enough of is a classical piece by Dobrinka Tabakova titled Concerto for Cello and Strings, Movement 1. I heard the end of this piece one day on Minnesota Public Radio while driving around with our daughter to get away from the house, and the end of the piece completely caught me off guard and made my ear pique in interest. Thanks to the quick use of Soundhound, I was able to get the title and piece for future listening.

What can I say about this one? The first half of the song is filled with strong strikes and harsh notes; strings are bouncing all over the place. Then around the 5-minute mark, the strings begin to swell into an intense wall of sound. For the balance of the piece, the strings escalate in strength and sonic dissonance; I dare call it a bit of "string shoegaze music," but I won't (or maybe I just did?) Just listening to it now I still get goosebumps. It's been my go-to piece this past year when I need an extra oomph. I'm not the world's biggest classical music fan, but I think this piece is very special and it will always remind me of the better parts of 2020 for the rest of my life.

Sort:  

It's a wonderful work that I'd have never heard otherwise. I really do appreciate it.

I was struck as I was watching straight over the back of the first two violinists at the similarity of the movements of their bows. It would be really cool to have a teeny LED light on the end of each and track the motion.

Good music for the year. Thank you!

I'm glad you enjoyed it too! She's quite a composer; it's quite a track I think. I"m a sucker for those fantastic string chords that get stretched out over the final few minutes of the movement. I really need to take the time to listen to more of her compositions.

That's a nice piece of music...The soundtrack to 2020 maybe huh? I listen to all sorts of music including classical and a lot of instrumental music as it's often emotive and the words don't get in the way, one is left to feel whatever one feels and put ones own story to it.

I haven't h are of SoundHound so I'll have to check out what that is and how it works but thanks to it you've found this great music which clearly makes you feel something positive.

Thanks for joining in this week.

!ENGAGE 25

I've been listening to a lot of public radio this year in the car, and I've only heard this one once. I thought maybe it had been used in a film/tv series, but I guess not. I'm always appreciative of finding something new, too...I love Beethoven and Mozart, but I do wonder what's out there that is amazing that doesn't get radio time over here. That might be a good resolution: find more new classical music!

Movie soundtracks are a good source of instrumental music, maybe not classical per se, but still good. Music from, Band of Brothers, Lone Survivor, Pearl Harbour, Oblivion, Enemy at the Gates and so many more. I find it a great source of often very emotive instrumental music. One just needs to explore a little.

I'll have to give this one a listen tomorrow, thanks for the track! I love these types of songs!

Definitely - let me know what you think! Movement @2 isn't too bad either - I'm excited to check out more of her work this year.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.