You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 39: Fear

I would have to go with not being remembered after I pass away. Doing ancestry research of late, it is amazing how many ancestors (a grandfather/grandmother, great grandfather/great grandmother, etc) I have had that no one knows anything about. Their lives completely lived and lost...all those experiences never remembered by anyone in the current day. I don't know why that scares me so much. Maybe I shouldn't be afraid and live the day, but it does honestly make me sad. And petrified. With one end of the blood line ending with me, it doesn't matter I guess in the long run that no one will remember anything about me, but it does terrify me a bit (or maybe quite a bit!).

Sort:  

Yes, I think of this too...Not a lot, but as I don't have children I wonder who would even know I was around, or care? I suppose the way I htink though is that I'll be dead and so it wouldn't matter to me at that point.

It's life though...Death I mean. You're on the right track I think mate, live now, plan for the future and make the time you have here as good as can be for you. The rest will take care of itself. Be present for Liza and Hattie mate, and yourself. The rest just doesn't matter.

A good fear though man thanks for calling it out.

!ENGAGE 25

I feel this one!
It's the bitter sweet cycle of life! On the other hand it does push you to make an impact while you live and not take it for granted... That being said and impact doesn't have to mean that you become famous, it's that you realize that everything you to from a smile to a hug to kind words had an impact on the people around you and that in turn has an impact on their people....

You are right, you know? I go back and forth with that being enough, but it is tricky...the brain likes to sneak up on you with doubt, you know? I agree with you...just being positive every day to those around you really is all that matters.

I can relate to this as well. Part of the reason why I started making art was because I wanted my art to outlive me. I wanted to leave a mark( or...a footprint😜) in this world.

Very cool, my friend. I'll follow you and check it out too - I guess maybe even leaving a footprint on this blockchain is sort of a mark too, for the long term. At least I'm hoping so, as I'd love for my daughter to be able to read through my posts and whatnot when I'm long gone.

thank you very much.

Quite legit. One we all have deep down, I guess. A fear or a worry...doesn't matter. Still, it is a good thing because it does not stupefy, it drives us towards building a legacy and trying to be our best, rather than doing harmful things.

Marcus Aurelius pointed out that everybody was eventually forgotten and quite fast in terms of Universal Consciousness which is nigh eternal. But here we are, remembering him about 18 centuries later.

Yeah, that is a good point; quite the historical figure too.

Universal Consciousness - what a heavy thought for a Saturday morning, but you are absolutely correct. In the end, I just hope it all makes sense to all of us in some way, shape, or form, you know?

Good morning SageSigma. If you'd like I'll share one of my trademarked catch phrases with you, you're welcome to try it out. If something isn't working out right or someone judges me over something stupid or anything negative, really, anything that I'd rather didn't happen:

'I'll be all but forgotten in 100 years anyway'

Also, since I'm sharing trademarked catch phrases, I don't think this next one will help with your fear but it might come in handy down the line somewhere:

'If you can't fix it with a hammer, it ain't broke'

Enjoy the rest of your weekend! Make the best of it.

'If you can't make the best of it, make the worst of it in the best way'

(That's another one—they come in 3's 3's 3's)

Nice, I like it! One hundred years from now...I can't even imagine what the world will be like at that point. The last thing humanity will probably need is any memory of me - lol

I already forgot what we were talking about. 😉

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.