WE104 : Two Pieces of Random Music

IMG_20170803_134028922.jpg

The question regarding music, as posed by WE104, definitely hit a nerve for me. I love music, and I love many types of styles and genres. Initially, to yank down only two works from my musical collective unconscious collection seemed daunting. Yet, after a few days of thought, I managed to get to two unique works to share with the #weekend community. Both pieces have to do with two unique times in my life, both of which involved massive road trips. With that said, here we go!

Spacemen 3 : Drive


Source

The first one I found in September of 2001. I had graduated college earlier that year, and I was in a slump to find work (or maybe it was me prolonging the jump into being an adult). Then of course 9-11 happened, and everything in the world seemed to want to find chaos. To shake things up a bit, a good friend and I decided to take a two-month-long road trip across the United States. Long story short, we managed to visit most of the Western states, spend a few weeks in Las Vegas, Mexico, and even a few camping nights along the Pacific.

Yet one of the most vivid memories I have was driving through the deserts of Nevada, at dusk, while this song played. It was on a cassette, so I had to rewind it a few times over and over to listen to it...but I do remember the windows down, the smell in the air, and the shadows of the mountains over the desert. It was quite a drive; most memorable!

Asobi Seksu - Thursday


Source

The second song I'd like to share is this shoegaze classic. This one I first found while driving I90 across the Dakotas. I took a solo trip from Wisconsin to Santa Cruz, California and basically "winged it." My brother and his girlfriend had moved to California around that time. I took two weeks off to drive one way and hang out with him, before flying back. I let the randomness of it all lead the way, and one highlight was listening to this as I approached the Badlands. Such an interesting song that resonated with me to this day. I'll save the Badlands experience for another share, too!

That's a few thoughts for this week's contribution. I hope they make some sense to you, too! As always, hoping everyone out there is having a safe and wonderful weekend!

Sort:  

I can remember having to rewind tapes back to listen to a song again, you kinda learned a knack for how long to keep the button depressed after a while. Kids of today will never understand what we went through 😂

Thursday is a rad song. I'll add that to my playlist, thank you! Their sound reminds me of another band but can't figure out who. I guess I'll be going through music tonight to find it.

You aren't kidding about cassettes (or Napster, or vinyl, or even mix tapes dependent upon FM radio plays...a true lost art!).

I'm glad you liked that one...it's very shoegazer, so if you like the sound, I'd recommend the genre!

Ah cassettes were awesome, rewind rewind and rewind some more, those were the days.
I was in Florida on 9/11 and yeah chaos ensued for a while.
Cool songs and thanks for sharing:)

A few cassettes in my friend's Thunderbird...man, it does seem so long ago. The things I used to be able to do in life, lol

ooh a thunderbird as well! damn, aye things change🤣

Congratulations @sagesigma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 72000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 73000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

WE THX IM.png

Thank you for supporting the original #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp