WE80: How my Childhood Girlfriend was Caught Reading a Love Letter I Wrote to Her

It's just very funny to remember my first love and the letter I wrote to her during our childhood days. What amuses me was the fact that my letters were filled with grammatical errors but for love and childhood sake it was understood by both of us. Wanting to make some adventures like my other friends who had girl friends and were talking about their girlfriends. But who taught children how to make friends of opposite sex if not the society. Every child wants to become matured and they tend to do this through what they saw. We're in the habit of playing mommy and daddy game when we're children and sometimes your neighbors daughter that acts like your wife automatically becomes your girlfriend and I've seen such experiences actualizing into full fleshed marriage in the long run. In this post this weekend I'll be exposing how I was almost beaten up by my girlfriends mom for writing a love letter to her.

image.pngSource

The Beginning
We grew up in the children department in our church and she was every boys dreamed girlfriend because she's very beautiful and intelligent. She could sing and was our pastors favorite child in the children's church. As a child I also joined everyone to focus my attention in her and we got ourselves closer to each other. We went to school together and we also knew where to meet to return home together. Although our parents were not aware that we're always moving to our various schools together. We're best of friends and we liked ourselves so much that we couldn't stay a day without seeing ourself. It was a glorious experience loving someone at that age.

Stocked in the Middle
As Nigerians and Christians our parents were very religious that you weren't allowed to even have female friends, neither were you allowed to have a girl friend. That also made myself and my fellow church boys not to have the courage to approach the opposite sex. This was not for adventurous young Port Harcourt, Nigeria boys who'll want to find things for themselves.
The D-Day came one Tuesday in 1999, when I was anxious to write to my crush about how I felt for her. The letter wasn't proofread by anybody because it's our little secret and if it was then, it'll not be a secret. My letter was full of grammatical errors but the fun was that I've expressed how I feel for her. Suddenly, my girlfriend brought out the letter to read. It was actually dark and there's blackout in the area so she decided to use the a lantern to read the letter and the mother worked slowly and watched her and immediately called her name. She suddenly wanted to hide the letter but the mom collected the letter and asked who wrote the letter and she quietly said that I was the one. A friend of mine who lived in her neighborhood quickly informed me. My worries was not about the letter but my mom hearing that I wrote a letter to a girl. I was so scared of my mom and my resident pastor that don't take shit but full of discipline. I began to pray to God to rescue me from the diaster that I've put myself into.

Finally we're all happily married to different persons. Childhood is very exciting and memory filled. Sometimes I just pray that does days of our childhood returns. That's my childhood story I don't know about yours if it was similar as mine.